Directorates and Divisions

The Health and Accident Insurance, Prevention and Public Health Services, Health Protection and Digital Transformation and Steering Directorates, plus the Management Services, Communication and Campaigns, International Affairs and Legal Affairs Divisions: Find out about their duties, powers and responsibilities here.

Director

Duties: Coordinating FOPH business with the Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA; representing the FOPH or the FDHA in working groups and on parliamentary committees and international bodies; planning reform projects

FOPH COVID-19 Task Force

Duties: controlling and preventing the spread of the coronavirus in Switzerland; minimising the negative effects of COVID-19 on public health; working with partners to formulate and implement measures

Health and Accident Insurance

Duties: Preparing the foundation for arranging and developing the health, accident and military insurance systems and their implementation

Prevention and Public Health Services

Duties: Promoting disease prevention; promoting health literacy among members of the Swiss public and strengthening conditions conducive to good health; continuing development of healthcare provision; developing and implementing health strategies; ensuring education and training for healthcare professions and primary healthcare

Health Protection

Duties: Assessing risks, raising public awareness and drawing up protection concepts for dealing with chemicals and radiation; assessing opportunities and risks of biomedicine and state-of-the-art medicine; establishing and monitoring legal frameworks

Digital Transformation and Steering

Duties: Developing and implementing the digitalisation strategy for healthcare and the FOPH; advising on digital issues; managing cross-divisional and cross-departmental digitalisation matters and providing impetus; establishing Switzerland’s Electronic Patient Record; promoting agile, comprehensive collaboration and innovation

Management Services Division

Duties: Coordinating political business, supporting the division; evaluation and research; language services; facility management and security.

Communication and Campaigns Division

Duties: Providing information internally and externally on relevant projects at the FOPH; preparing communications on the Federal Council’s health policy decisions; running campaigns to improve health literacy among the public

International Affairs Division

Duties: Managing the FOPH’s international work; representing Switzerland’s interests at international organisations, particularly the WHO

Legal Affairs Division

Duties: Dealing with and managing legislative business; assuring coherent legislation; providing expert opinions on legal issues; representing the FOPH in legal disputes

Last modification 06.01.2022

Top of page

Direktionsbereiche & Abteilungen

Direktionsbereiche Kranken- und Unfallversicherung, Prävention und Gesundheitsversorgung, Gesundheitsschutz, Digitale Transformation und Steuerung sowie die Abteilungen Direktionsstab, Kommunikation und Kampagnen, Internationales und Recht: Informieren Sie sich hier über die Aufgaben und Kompetenzen.

Direktorin

Aufgaben: Amtsgeschäfte mit dem Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern (EDI) koordinieren; Vertretung des Amts oder des EDI in Arbeitsgruppen, Parlamentskommissionen und internationalen Gremien sicherstellen; Reformvorhaben planen

Koordinationsgruppe Covid-19

Aufgaben: Gesamtplanung, Informationsfluss und Koordination im Bereich Covid-19 im BAG sicherstellen

Kranken- und Unfallversicherung

Aufgaben: Grundlagen für Ausgestaltung und Weiterentwicklung von Kranken-, Unfall- und Militärversicherung und für deren Umsetzung vorbereiten

Prävention und Gesundheitsversorgung

Aufgaben: Prävention von Krankheiten fördern; Gesundheitskompetenz der Schweizer Bevölkerung fördern und gesundheitsförderliche Rahmenbedingungen stärken; Gesundheitsversorgung weiterentwickeln; Gesundheitsstrategien entwickeln und umsetzen; Aus- und Weiterbildung der Gesundheitsberufe sowie Grundversorgung sichern

Gesundheitsschutz

Aufgaben: Risiken bewerten, die Bevölkerung sensibilisieren und Schutzkonzepte erarbeiten beim Umgang mit Chemikalien und Strahlung; Chancen und Risiken der Bio- und Spitzenmedizin beurteilen; rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen schaffen und überwachen

Digitale Transformation und Steuerung

Aufgaben: Digitalisierungsstrategie für das Gesundheitswesen und das BAG entwickeln und umsetzen; zu digitalen Themen beraten; abteilungs- und amtsübergreifende Themen der Digitalisierung führen und Impulse setzen; elektronisches Patientendossier der Schweiz etablieren; agile und themenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit und Innovation fördern

Abteilung Direktionsstab

Aufgaben: Koordination der politischen Geschäfte; Unterstützung der Direktion; Evaluation und Forschung; Sprachdienste; Facility Management und Sicherheit

Abteilung Kommunikation und Kampagnen

Aufgaben: extern und intern über relevante Projekte des Amtes informieren; Kommunikation zu gesundheitspolitischen Entscheiden des Bundesrats vorbereiten; durch Kampagnen die Kompetenz der Bevölkerung in Gesundheitsfragen erhöhen

Abteilung Internationales

Aufgaben: internationale Arbeit des BAG gestalten; schweizerische Interessen in internationalen Organisationen vertreten, insbesondere bei der WHO

Abteilung Recht

Aufgaben: Rechtsetzungsgeschäfte bearbeiten und steuern; kohärente Gesetzgebung sicherstellen; rechtliche Fragestellungen begutachten; BAG in Rechtsstreitigkeiten vertreten