Taking health to heart

As part of the Federal Department of Home Affairs, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) is responsible for public health in Switzerland; it develops Switzerland’s health policy and works to ensure that the country has an efficient and affordable healthcare system in the long term. Find out everything you need to know about our tasks and the objectives of our work here.  

Our tasks

We provide competence in healthcare, promote a healthy lifestyle and work for the general well-being of the public. We are responsible for ensuring that our healthcare system remains efficient and affordable.

The most important requirements regarding health are set out in the Federal Constitution. We are responsible for more than twenty laws and numerous ordinances that are based on these standards. The range of our tasks is correspondingly broad: We are responsible for social health and accident insurance, regulations for chemicals, medicines, legislation in the areas of biosafety, research on humans and transplantation medicine, health promotion, national programs combating addiction and sexually transmitted diseases, radiation protection, and the regulation of university medical and health professionals. Furthermore, we represent the interests of Switzerland in health matters in international organisations and towards other countries.

Our goals

The people in our country should be able to deal competently and responsibly with their health, and our healthcare system should continue to provide high quality care and be affordable and accessible to all.

We face considerable challenges: the number of older and chronically ill people and non-communicable diseases is increasing. In addition to a lack of qualified personnel, costs are being pushed up by demographic trends and advances in medical technology, and the healthcare system is not sufficiently transparent. The healthcare system also has a great deal to catch up on in terms of digitisation.

To cope with these challenges in a sustainable manner, the Federal Council has been pushing ahead with more than 36 measures following the adoption of the ‘Health2020’ strategy in 2013. These are aimed at improving the quality of life of the people in our country, increasing equality of opportunity and optimising transparency and the quality of care. The Health 2030 strategy is building on these measures. The Federal Council wishes to further improve the healthcare system and thus enable all people in Switzerland to receive good and affordable medical care.

The FOPH will play a major role in implementing this. Our aim is to prepare Switzerland’s healthcare system optimally for the future.

Activity reports

The FOPH publishes activity reports on various topics, for example on radiation protection and the National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections. You can find the reports here.

Directorates and Divisions of the FOPH

Director

Duties: Coordinating FOPH business with the Federal Department of Home Affairs FDHA; representing the FOPH or the FDHA in working groups and on parliamentary committees and international bodies; planning reform projects

COVID-19 Coordination Group

Duties: overall planning, ensuring the flow of information, and coordination in the field of COVID-19 at the FOPH

Health and Accident Insurance

Duties: Preparing the foundation for arranging and developing the health, accident and military insurance systems and their implementation

Prevention and Public Health Services

Duties: Promoting disease prevention; promoting health literacy among members of the Swiss public and strengthening conditions conducive to good health; continuing development of healthcare provision; developing and implementing health strategies; ensuring education and training for healthcare professions and primary healthcare

Health Protection

Duties: Assessing risks, raising public awareness and drawing up protection concepts for dealing with chemicals and radiation; assessing opportunities and risks of biomedicine and state-of-the-art medicine; establishing and monitoring legal frameworks

Digital Transformation and Steering

Duties: Developing and implementing the digitalisation strategy for healthcare and the FOPH; advising on digital issues; managing cross-divisional and cross-departmental digitalisation matters and providing impetus; establishing Switzerland’s Electronic Patient Record; promoting agile, comprehensive collaboration and innovation

Management Services Division

Duties: Coordinating political business, supporting the division; evaluation and research; language services; facility management and security.

Communication and Campaigns Division

Duties: Providing information internally and externally on relevant projects at the FOPH; preparing communications on the Federal Council’s health policy decisions; running campaigns to improve health literacy among the public

International Affairs Division

Duties: Managing the FOPH’s international work; representing Switzerland’s interests at international organisations, particularly the WHO

Legal Affairs Division

Duties: Dealing with and managing legislative business; assuring coherent legislation; providing expert opinions on legal issues; representing the FOPH in legal disputes

Last modification 07.02.2022

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Management Services Division
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/das-bag/auftrag-ziele.html

Gesundheit liegt uns am Herzen

Als Teil des Eidgenössischen Departements des Inneren ist das Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG verantwortlich für die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung, entwickelt die schweizerische Gesundheitspolitik und setzt sich für ein langfristig leistungsfähiges und bezahlbares Gesundheitssystem ein. Erfahren Sie hier alles Wesentliche zu unserem Auftrag und den Zielen, die wir mit unserer Arbeit verfolgen.

Auftrag

Wir setzen uns kompetent für die Gesundheit ein, fördern eine gesunde Lebensweise und sorgen dafür, dass es den Menschen in unserem Land gut geht. Wir sind verantwortlich dafür, dass unser Gesundheitssystem leistungsfähig und bezahlbar bleibt.

Die wichtigsten Vorgaben zur Gesundheit sind in der Bundesverfassung geregelt. Wir sind für die Anwendung von mehr als zwanzig Gesetzen und von zahlreichen Verordnungen zuständig, die auf diesen Normen aufbauen. Entsprechend breit ist unser Aufgabengebiet: Wir kümmern uns um die soziale Kranken- und Unfallversicherung, die Vorschriften für Chemikalien und Heilmittel, die Gesetzgebungen in den Bereichen biologische Sicherheit, Forschung am Menschen und Transplantationsmedizin, die Gesundheitsförderung, die nationalen Programme zur Bekämpfung von Suchtverhalten und sexuell übertragbaren Krankheiten, den Strahlenschutz, die Regelung der universitären Medizinal- und Gesundheitsberufe und vertreten die gesundheitspolitischen Interessen der Schweiz in internationalen Organisationen und gegenüber anderen Staaten.

Ziele

Die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner der Schweiz sollen mit ihrer Gesundheit kompetent und verantwortungsbewusst umgehen können. Gleichzeitig soll unser bewährtes Gesundheitssystem qualitativ hochstehend, finanzierbar und zugänglich bleiben.

Wir stehen vor grossen Herausforderungen: Die Zahl der älteren und chronisch kranken Menschen sowie der nicht übertragbaren Krankheiten nimmt zu. Es fehlt an qualifiziertem Fachpersonal, die demographische Entwicklung und der medizinisch-technische Fortschritt erhöhen die Kosten und das Gesundheitswesen ist zu wenig transparent. Zudem besteht bei der Digitalisierung im Gesundheitswesen ein grosser Aufholbedarf.

Der Bundesrat will diese Herausforderungen nachhaltig bewältigen und hat dazu seit 2013 mit der Strategie Gesundheit2020 über 36 Massnahmen vorangetrieben. Dadurch will er die Lebensqualität der Menschen in unserem Land verbessern, die Chancengleichheit erhöhen und die Transparenz und Versorgungsqualität optimieren. Gesundheit2030 baut auf diesen Massnahmen auf. Der Bundesrat will das Gesundheitssystem weiter verbessern und somit allen Menschen in der Schweiz eine gute und bezahlbare medizinische Versorgung ermöglichen.

Bei der Umsetzung dieser Strategie spielen wir eine Hauptrolle. Unser Ziel ist, das Schweizer Gesundheitssystem optimal auf die Herausforderungen der Zukunft auszurichten.

Tätigkeitsberichte

Das BAG publiziert Tätigkeitsberichte zu verschiedenen Themengebieten, beispielsweise zu Strahlenschutz und zum Nationalen Programm HIV und anderen sexuellen Infektionen STI. Die Berichte finden Sie hier.

Direktionsbereiche & Abteilungen des BAG

Direktorin

Aufgaben: Amtsgeschäfte mit dem Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern (EDI) koordinieren; Vertretung des Amts oder des EDI in Arbeitsgruppen, Parlamentskommissionen und internationalen Gremien sicherstellen; Reformvorhaben planen

Taskforce BAG Covid-19

Aufgaben: Ausbreitung des Coronavirus in der Schweiz kontrollieren und verhindern; negativen Auswirkungen von Covid-19 auf die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung minimieren; Massnahmen gemeinsam mit Partnern erarbeiten und umsetzen

Kranken- und Unfallversicherung

Aufgaben: Grundlagen für Ausgestaltung und Weiterentwicklung von Kranken-, Unfall- und Militärversicherung und für deren Umsetzung vorbereiten

Prävention und Gesundheitsversorgung

Aufgaben: Prävention von Krankheiten fördern; Gesundheitskompetenz der Schweizer Bevölkerung fördern und gesundheitsförderliche Rahmenbedingungen stärken; Gesundheitsversorgung weiterentwickeln; Gesundheitsstrategien entwickeln und umsetzen; Aus- und Weiterbildung der Gesundheitsberufe sowie Grundversorgung sichern

Gesundheitsschutz

Aufgaben: Risiken bewerten, die Bevölkerung sensibilisieren und Schutzkonzepte erarbeiten beim Umgang mit Chemikalien und Strahlung; Chancen und Risiken der Bio- und Spitzenmedizin beurteilen; rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen schaffen und überwachen

Digitale Transformation und Steuerung

Aufgaben: Digitalisierungsstrategie für das Gesundheitswesen und das BAG entwickeln und umsetzen; zu digitalen Themen beraten; abteilungs- und amtsübergreifende Themen der Digitalisierung führen und Impulse setzen; elektronisches Patientendossier der Schweiz etablieren; agile und themenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit und Innovation fördern

Abteilung Direktionsstab

Aufgaben: Koordination der politischen Geschäfte; Unterstützung der Direktion; Evaluation und Forschung; Sprachdienste; Facility Management und Sicherheit

Abteilung Kommunikation und Kampagnen

Aufgaben: extern und intern über relevante Projekte des Amtes informieren; Kommunikation zu gesundheitspolitischen Entscheiden des Bundesrats vorbereiten; durch Kampagnen die Kompetenz der Bevölkerung in Gesundheitsfragen erhöhen

Abteilung Internationales

Aufgaben: internationale Arbeit des BAG gestalten; schweizerische Interessen in internationalen Organisationen vertreten, insbesondere bei der WHO

Abteilung Recht

Aufgaben: Rechtsetzungsgeschäfte bearbeiten und steuern; kohärente Gesetzgebung sicherstellen; rechtliche Fragestellungen begutachten; BAG in Rechtsstreitigkeiten vertreten

Letzte Änderung 17.12.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Direktionsstab
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/das-bag/auftrag-ziele.html