Health insurance: Posted workers in Switzerland

Posted workers are subject to the social security legislation of their home country. As regards health insurance, various categories are to be distinguished, depending on the country from which workers are posted.

Postings from an EU/EFTA country

Swiss nationals or nationals of an EU/EFTA member state who are posted to Switzerland for a period of up to 2 years by a company based in the EU or EFTA remain subject to the legislation of the home country. Upon presentation of the appropriate certificate (attestation A1, issued by the social security institution of the home country), they are exempted from liability to Swiss social security contributions, including health insurance.

The Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons and the EFTA Convention are not applicable for third-country nationals. In most cases, such postings can proceed on the basis of bilateral agreements.

Postings from a contracting state

If a worker posted to Switzerland from a contracting state (outside the EU/EFTA, Croatia, India, Japan and Macedonia) wishes to be exempted from insurance obligations in Switzerland, the employer concerned must undertake to ensure that, for the entire duration of the exemption, at least the benefits specified in the Health Insurance Act are covered for treatments in Switzerland (for a list of international social security agreements concluded by Switzerland, see below).

Postings from Croatia, India, Japan and Macedonia

In order to be exempted from Swiss health insurance obligations, workers posted to Switzerland from Croatia, India, Japan and Macedonia need only submit a copy of their certificate of posting or extended posting (special agreement) to the cantonal body responsible for exemption from health insurance in their canton of residence.

Postings from a non-contracting state

Essentially, workers posted from a state with which Switzerland has not concluded a social security agreement (non-contracting state) are required to obtain insurance in Switzerland. In fact, as soon as workers pay contributions to Swiss social insurance schemes (e.g. AHV/IV), they are no longer deemed to be posted workers. Workers who are subject to compulsory health insurance abroad can apply for exemption from insurance obligations in Switzerland if they would otherwise face a double burden and if their existing insurance provides equivalent cover for treatments in Switzerland.

Further information

An overview of the relevant agreements is provided by the following document: “Overview of international social security agreements concluded by Switzerland/implications for health insurance and posted workers’ liability” (available in French/German). Additional information is available on the website of the Federal Social Insurance Office, and in the FSIO brochures on social security for posted workers.

Further information

No results found

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/entsandte-arbeitnehmende-ch.html

Assurance-maladie : Travailleurs détachés en Suisse

La législation de sécurité sociale du pays d’origine reste applicable au travailleur détaché. En ce qui concerne l'assurance-maladie, il convient de distinguer différentes catégories en fonction du pays depuis lequel le travailleur est détaché.

Détachement depuis un Etat de l'UE/AELE

Les ressortissants de nationalité suisse ou d’un Etat membre de l’UE ou de l’AELE qui sont détachés en Suisse pour une période allant jusqu’à 24 mois par une entreprise ayant son siège dans l’UE ou l’AELE restent soumis à la législation de l’Etat d’origine. Sur présentation du certificat adéquat (attestation A1, émise par l’institution d’assurance compétente de l’Etat d’origine), ils sont exemptés de l’assujettissement aux assurances sociales suisses, y compris de l’assurance-maladie.

L'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes et la Convention AELE ne s’appliquent pas aux ressortissants d'Etats tiers. Dans la plupart des cas, leur détachement est possible sur la base de conventions bilatérales.

Détachement depuis un Etat contractant

Si un travailleur détaché en Suisse depuis un Etat contractant (autre que UE/AELE, Croatie, Inde, Japon et Macédoine) souhaite être exempté de l'obligation de s'assurer en Suisse, son employeur doit s'engager à ce que, pendant toute la durée de validité de l'exemption, au moins les prestations prévues par la LAMal soient assurées pour les traitements en Suisse (pour la liste des conventions internationales de sécurité sociale conclues par la Suisse, voir ci-dessous)

Détachement depuis la Croatie, l'Inde, le Japon et la Macédoine

Les travailleurs détachés en Suisse depuis la Croatie, l'Inde, le Japon et la Macédoine doivent uniquement présenter une copie de l’attestation de détachement ou de l’attestation d’accord particulier à l’organisme cantonal responsable de l’exemption de l’assurance-maladie de leur canton de domicile pour être exemptés de l’obligation de s’affilier à l’assurance-maladie suisse.

Détachement depuis un Etat non-contractant

Les travailleurs détachés depuis un Etat avec lequel la Suisse n'a pas conclu de convention de sécurité sociale (Etat non-contractant) doivent en principe s’assurer en Suisse. En effet, dès qu’une personne cotise aux assurances sociales telles que l’AVS/l’AI etc. en Suisse, elle n’est pas considérée comme personne détachée. Les personnes assurées obligatoirement pour les cas de maladie en vertu du droit étranger peuvent demander à être libérées de l’obligation d’assurance en Suisse, lorsque leur affiliation signifierait pour elles une double charge et qu’elles disposent d’une couverture d’assurance équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse.

Informations complémentaires

Pour un aperçu de l’ensemble des conventions, voir le document « Aperçu des conventions internationales de sécurité sociale conclues par la Suisse / effets sur l’assurance-maladie et l’assujettissement des travailleurs détachés ». Vous trouverez des informations supplémentaires sur le site internet de l’Office fédéral des assurances sociales ainsi que dans leurs mémentos sur la sécurité sociale des travailleurs détachés.

Informations complémentaires

Conventions internationales de sécurité sociale

La Suisse a conclu des accords multilatéraux et des conventions internationales de sécurité sociale qui ont des effets en matière d'assurance-maladie.

Dernière modification 24.08.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance de la gouvernance d’entreprise
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/versicherungspflicht/entsandte-arbeitnehmende-ch.html