Health insurance: Voluntary daily benefits insurance

Voluntary daily benefits insurance covers the risk of temporary loss of earnings due to partial or complete inability to work because of sickness, maternity or an accident.

Two different insurance systems

  • Daily benefits can be insured under the terms of two different laws: on the basis of the Federal Act of 18 March 1994 on Health Insurance (HIA; SR 832.10) and on the basis of the Federal Act of 2 April 1908 on Insurance Policies (Insurance Policies Act, IPA; SR 221.229.1).
  • Daily benefits insurance under the terms of the HIA is a form of social insurance offered by statutory health insurance providers.
  • Daily benefits insurance under the terms of the IPA is based on a private-law insurance contract. It can be offered by insurance companies as defined in the Federal Act of 17 December 2004 on the Oversight of Insurance Companies (Insurance Oversight Act, IOA; SR 961.01).
  • Statutory health insurance providers can offer daily benefits insurance under the terms of the IPA on the basis of their ability to offer add-on policies in addition to statutory health insurance.

Daily benefits insurance under the HIA

  • Providers of statutory health insurance are required to provide daily benefits insurance to individuals between the ages of 15 and 65 who live or work in Switzerland.
  • Providers of statutory health insurance must offer the same level of daily benefits for the same length of time to all insured individuals. Reservations regarding insurance cover for existing illnesses lapse after five years.
  • These insurance providers pay daily benefits if you are 50% unable to work for at least 720 days during a 900-day period. Special regulations apply to pregnancy and giving birth.
  • They charge the same premiums for the same benefits in individual insurance policies. In a collective insurance policy, benefits that are not the same as (more generous than) those provided by individual insurance can be agreed and the premiums can be determined on the basis of the risk covered by each policy.
  • If the insured person has to change insurer when starting or ending a job, no new reservations may be introduced.
  • Anyone who leaves a collective insurance policy is entitled to transfer to an individual insurance policy with the same benefits as before.
  • Unemployed insureds are paid half the daily benefit if they are more than 25 per cent unable to work and the full daily benefit if they are more than 50 per cent unable to work. In addition, on appropriate adjustment of their premium, unemployed insureds are entitled to change their previous insurance to a policy that starts paying benefits from the 31st day of unfitness for work.
  • The Health Insurance Act does not specify a minimum level of daily benefits that insurers must provide. This means that insurance providers are not required to offer applicants the insurance they need to cover the anticipated loss of earnings if they become ill. Many insurance providers offer only a low level of daily benefits under the terms of the HIA. Many people are therefore insured for a higher level of benefits under the terms of the IPA.

Daily benefits insurance under the IPA

  • The principle of freedom of contract applies to daily benefits insurance under the terms of the IPA. Insurance providers are therefore not obliged to accept applicants.
  • Reservations regarding existing diseases may be attached to the insurance policy for an unlimited period, and certain sickness risks can be excluded from the obligation to provide benefits.
  • The level and duration of benefits can be agreed freely.
  • The law does not guarantee the right to switch from one policy to another or to change from collective to individual insurance. However, the provisions of the HIA concerning the protection of unemployed insureds must also be observed in insurance policies under the terms of the IPA.

The employer’s obligation to continue paying salary

  • Employees’ risk of loss of earnings in case of sickness is also covered by the employer’s obligation to continue paying salary as stipulated in the Code of Obligations and the administration of justice.
  • This obligation to continue paying salary frequently results in the employer taking out daily benefits insurance under the terms of the HIA or the IPA.
  • The obligation to take out daily benefits insurance is usually also stipulated in collective labour agreements.

Last modification 26.08.2019

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Governance Supervision Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/freiwillige-taggeldversicherung.html

Assurance-maladie : L'assurance facultative d'indemnités journalières

L'assurance facultative d'indemnités journalières couvre les pertes de sa-laire temporaires en cas d'incapacité de travail totale ou partielle due à une maladie, à une grossesse ou à un accident.

Deux systèmes d'assurance différents

  • L'assurance d'indemnités journalières peut être conclue selon deux lois différentes : la loi fédérale du 18 mars 1994 sur l’assurance-maladie (LAMal ; RS 832.10) et la loi fédérale du 2 avril 1908 sur le contrat d’assurance (loi sur le contrat d’assurance, LCA ; RS 221.229.1).
  • L’assurance d’indemnités journalières soumise à la LAMal est une assurance sociale ; elle est pratiquée par les assureurs LAMal.
  • L’assurance d’indemnités journalières selon la LCA est fondée sur un contrat d’assurance de droit privé. Elle peut être pratiquée par des entreprises d’assurance au sens de la loi fédérale du 17 décembre 2004 sur la surveillance des entreprises d’assurance (loi sur la surveillance des assurances, LSA ; RS 961.01).
  • Les assureurs LAMal peuvent eux aussi pratiquer l’assurance selon la LCA, en vertu de leur habilitation à gérer des assurances complémentaires en plus de la pratique de l’assurance-maladie sociale.

L’assurance d’indemnités journalières selon la LAMal

  • Toute personne qui est domiciliée en Suisse ou y exerce une activité lucrative et qui est âgée entre 15 et 65 ans peut conclure une assurance d'indemnités journalières avec un assureur LAMal.
  • Les assureurs LAMal sont tenus de traiter tous les assurés de la même manière quant au montant et à la durée de l’indemnité journalière. Les réserves d'assurance pour les maladies existantes sont caduques au plus tard après cinq ans.
  • En cas d’incapacité de travail de 50 %, les indemnités doivent être versées durant au moins 720 jours dans une période de 900 jours. Des règles particulières s'appliquent en cas de grossesse et d'accouchement.
  • Dans l’assurance individuelle, les assureurs sont tenus d'appliquer les mêmes primes pour les mêmes prestations. L’assurance collective peut prévoir des prestations différentes (plus élevées) de celles de l’assurance individuelle, et les primes peuvent être fixées en fonction du risque de chaque contrat.
  • Si la personne assurée doit changer d’assureur parce que ses rapports de travail ou la fin de ceux-ci l’exigent, le nouvel assureur n’a pas le droit d’instituer de nouvelles réserves.
  • En cas de sortie d’une assurance collective, la personne assurée a le droit de passer dans une assurance individuelle pour les prestations assurées jusque-là.
  • Les chômeurs assurés ont droit à des demi-indemnités journalières en cas d’incapacité de travail supérieure à 25 % et à des indemnités journalières entières en cas d’incapacité de travail de plus de 50 %. Ils peuvent en outre prétendre, moyennant une adaptation équitable des primes, à la transformation de leur ancienne assurance en une assurance dont les prestations sont versées dès le 31e jour.
  • La LAMal ne prescrit pas de montant minimal. Les assureurs ne sont donc pas tenus de proposer aux intéressés une couverture d’assurance qui leur permette de couvrir la perte de gain prévisible en cas de maladie. Souvent, les assurances selon la LAMal prévoient des indemnités journalières d’un faible montant. C'est pourquoi la plupart des assurés concluent une assurance d'indemnités journalières selon la LCA.

L’assurance d’indemnités journalières selon la LCA

  • L’assurance d’indemnités journalières selon la LCA est régie par le principe de la liberté de contracter. Il n’y a donc pas d’obligation d’admission.
  • Des réserves d’assurance pour les maladies existantes peuvent être instituées sans limite temporelle, et certains risques de maladie peuvent être exclus.
  • Le montant et la durée des prestations peuvent être convenus librement.
  • La loi ne garantit pas le droit au libre passage, ni au passage de l’assurance collective à l’assurance individuelle. Cependant, les dispositions de la LAMal relatives à la protection des chômeurs assurés doivent également être respectées dans les assurances conclues selon la LCA.

Obligation pour l'employeur de poursuivre le versement du salaire

  • Pour les salariés, le risque de perte de gain en cas de maladie est également couvert par l’obligation faite à l’employeur de continuer de verser le salaire, telle qu’elle est définie dans le code des obligations et par la jurisprudence.
  • Cette obligation a très souvent pour conséquence que l’employeur conclut une assurance d’indemnités journalières fondée sur la LAMal ou sur la LCA.
  • L’engagement à conclure une telle assurance figure d’ailleurs fréquemment dans les conventions collectives de travail.

Dernière modification 03.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance de la gouvernance d’entreprise
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-in-der-schweiz/freiwillige-taggeldversicherung.html