Health insurance: Recipients of a Swiss pension living abroad

Recipients of a Swiss pension resident in an EU/EFTA country must take out Swiss health insurance. If they live outside the EU/EFTA, they must take out health insurance, not in Switzerland, but in their country of residence. 

Pensioners resident in an EU/EFTA country

In 2002 the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons between Switzerland and the EU (AFMP) and the EFTA Convention led to the harmonisation of social security systems. For this reason, recipients of a Swiss pension resident in an EU/EFTA country, as well as non-working family members, are subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.
Persons drawing a pension from their country of residence must take out health insurance in that country.
Persons drawing pensions from several countries (but not from their country of residence) must take out health insurance in the country in which they paid contributions for the longest period.

Option of obtaining insurance in country of residence

Switzerland has, however, concluded agreements with its neighbouring countries (Germany, Austria, France and Italy) and some others (e.g. Spain) so that recipients of a Swiss pension living in these countries have the option of taking out health insurance in their country of residence. In the case of Portugal, this option is restricted to pensioners themselves; non-working family members must take out health insurance in Portugal. For further information, see the table below (in German).

Persons who do not wish to take out Swiss health insurance must submit an application for exemption to the Common Institution under the KVG in Olten within three months of receiving their first pension payment or moving to an EU country (no such deadline applies for Spain).

To exercise this option, these persons must provide evidence that they are covered for treatment in their country of residence, as well as during stays in other EU/EFTA countries and in Switzerland (e.g. European Health Insurance Card).

If a pensioner does not submit an application for exemption, the Common Institution under the KVG is required to assign him or her to a health insurer in Switzerland.

In March 2015, the Federal Supreme Court issued a ruling on the exercise of this option in the area of health insurance. According to the ruling, the so-called tacit exercise of this option does not have legal force. Pensioners who have previously been insured abroad rather than in Switzerland and who have not submitted a formal application for exemption from compulsory insurance may take out insurance in Switzerland under the KVG. They must obtain confirmation from the Common Institution under the KVG that they have not yet exercised this option with legal force. On presenting this confirmation, they will be enrolled by the Swiss health insurer (see information letter dated 20 April 2015 below).

Procedure for exercising the option for France

Pensioners who are insured in France and have this option available must, within 3 months, complete the “Choice of health insurance system” form (see below) and return it, signed by the French Caisse primaire d'assurance-maladie (CPAM), to the Common Institution under the KVG. Persons who are insured in Switzerland but who move to France and wish to obtain health insurance there must, without delay, send a copy of this form, signed by the CPAM, to the Swiss health insurer, so that their insurance in Switzerland can be terminated.

The procedure for exercising this option for France is governed by the agreement of 7 July 2016 between Switzerland and France (see the agreement below, together with the information letter of 11 July 2016 and the FAQ).

Common Institution under the KVG

In Switzerland, the Common Institution under the KVG in Olten is the health insurance liaison body for recipients of a Swiss pension resident in an EU/EFTA country and insured in Switzerland.

Useful information can be found on the Institution’s website (see link below). If you have any queries, please contact the Institution directly.

Further information

Health insurance: Recipients of an EU/EFTA pension

Pensioners resident in Switzerland who draw a pension exclusively from an EU/EFTA country are not insured in Switzerland.

Health insurance: EU/EFTA premiums and premium subsidies

Persons insured in Switzerland pay the EU/EFTA premiums applicable for their country of residence. Those on low incomes are entitled to premium subsidies.

Treatment abroad for policyholders resident abroad

Persons insured in Switzerland and resident abroad are entitled to be treated in the country where they are staying or residing, or in Switzerland.

Health insurance: Cross-border commuters working in Switzerland

In general, cross-border commuters are required to take out Swiss health insurance. Some exceptions apply, depending on the employee’s country of residence and nationality.

Last modification 21.04.2021

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Section Legal Supervision of Health Insurance
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/bezuegerinnen-ch-rente-im-ausland.html

Assurance-maladie : Bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse à l'étranger

Les bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse domiciliés dans un Etat de l’UE/AELE doivent s’assurer en Suisse. S'ils sont domiciliés hors de l‘UE/AELE, ils ne sont plus soumis à l’assurance-maladie obligatoire suisse et doivent s’assurer dans leur pays de domicile.

Rentiers domiciliés dans un Etat de l’UE/AELE

Conformément à l'harmonisation des systèmes de sécurité sociale, introduite par l'Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes entre la Suisse et l'UE (ALCP) et la Convention AELE en 2002, les bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse et les membres de leur famille sans activité lucrative, domiciliés dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE sont soumis à l’assurance-maladie obligatoire suisse.
Les personnes qui bénéficient d'une rente de leur pays de résidence doivent s'assurer dans leur pays de résidence.
Les personnes qui bénéficient d'une rente de plusieurs Etats (mais pas de leur Etat de résidence) doivent s'assurer dans le pays où elles ont cotisé le plus longtemps.

Droit d'option

Toutefois, la Suisse a conclu avec les pays limitrophes (Allemagne, Autriche, France, Italie) ainsi que d’autres pays (p. ex l’Espagne) des accords particuliers permettant aux bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse qui y sont domiciliés de s'assurer dans leur pays de domicile (droit d'option). Avec le Portugal, ce droit d'option est limité aux seuls rentiers : les membres de leur famille sans activité lucrative doivent s'assurer au Portugal. Pour plus de précisions, voir tableau « Assujettissement à l'assurance-maladie obligatoire de personnes résidant dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE » ainsi que le document « L’assurance-maladie des bénéficiaires de rentes suisses en Espagne ».

Les intéressés qui ne souhaitent pas s'assurer en Suisse doivent présenter une demande d'exemption de l'obligation de s'assurer, auprès de l'Institution commune LAMal à Olten, dans les trois mois qui suivent l'octroi de la première rente ou le déménagement dans l'Etat de l'UE (pas de délai pour le droit d'option avec l'Espagne).

Pour exercer leur droit d'option, les intéressés doivent prouver qu'ils disposent d'une couverture d'assurance pour les traitements dans l'Etat de résidence ainsi que lors d'un séjour dans un autre Etat membre de l'UE/AELE et en Suisse (p. ex. carte européenne d'assurance-maladie).

L'Institution commune LAMal est tenue d'affilier à une caisse-maladie suisse les rentiers qui ne déposent aucune demande d'exemption.

En mars 2015, le Tribunal fédéral a rendu un arrêt relatif à l’exercice du droit d'option en matière d'assurance-maladie. Selon cet arrêt, l'exercice tacite du droit d'option n'est juridiquement pas valable. Les bénéficiaires de rentes qui n'étaient jusqu'ici pas assurés en Suisse, mais avaient pris une assurance à l’étranger, sans avoir déposé une demande formelle d'exemption, peuvent s’assurer en Suisse selon la LAMal. Ils doivent demander à l’Institution commune LAMal une attestation selon laquelle ils n’ont pas encore exercé valablement leur droit d'option. Sur présentation de cette attestation, ils pourront s’affilier auprès d’un assureur-maladie suisse (voir ci-dessous la lettre d’information du 20 avril 2015).

Modalités d'exercice du droit d'option avec la France

Les rentiers assurés en France qui bénéficient d'un droit d'option doivent remplir le formulaire ci-dessous « Choix du système d'assurance-maladie » et le retourner, visé par la Caisse primaire d'assurance-maladie française (CPAM), à l'Institution commune LAMal dans un délai de 3 mois. Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui déménagement en France et choisissent de s'y assurer doivent transmettre dans les plus brefs délais une copie du formulaire, visé par la CPAM, à leur caisse-maladie pour mettre fin à l'assurance en Suisse.

Les modalités d'exercice du droit d'option avec la France sont réglementées par l’Accord franco-suisse du 7 juillet 2016 (voir ci-dessous le texte de l’Accord et la lettre d’information du 11 juillet 2016 ainsi que les FAQ y relatives).

Institution commune LAMal

En Suisse, l'Institution commune LAMal à Olten est l'organisme de liaison en matière d'assurance-maladie pour les bénéficiaires d'une rente suisse domiciliés dans un pays de l'UE/AELE et assurés en Suisse.

Vous trouverez toutes les informations utiles sur le site internet de l’Institution commune LAMal (voir lien ci-dessous). Pour toute question, nous vous invitons à vous adresser directement à cette dernière.

Informations complémentaires

Bénéficiaires d’une rente UE/AELE

Les rentiers domiciliés en Suisse qui sont exclusivement au bénéfice d’une rente provenant d’un État de l’UE/AELE ne sont pas assurés en Suisse.

Primes et réduction des primes UE/AELE

Les personnes assurées en Suisse paient les primes UE/AELE applicables à leur pays de domicile. Les assurés de condition économique modeste ont droit à une réduction des primes.

Soins à l'étranger des assurés vivant à l'étranger

Les personnes assurées en Suisse qui vivent à l'étranger ont le droit de se faire soigner dans leur pays de séjour ou de domicile et en Suisse.

Travailleurs frontaliers en Suisse

Les travailleurs frontaliers doivent en principe conclure une assurance-maladie en Suisse. Des exceptions sont possibles en fonction du pays de domicile et de la nationalité du travailleur.

Dernière modification 10.02.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Surveillance juridique AM
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherte-mit-wohnsitz-im-ausland/versicherungspflicht/bezuegerinnen-ch-rente-im-ausland.html