KVG solvency test Health insurers

The solvency test is used to assess whether health insurers have adequate financial reserves. It is completed at the beginning of each year and takes account of the risks to which an insurer will be exposed until the end of the year. The insurer is deemed to have passed the test if the available reserves exceed the specified minimum level.

The KVG solvency test is used to assess the risks to which health insurers are exposed and their capacity to bear these risks. Requirements for the minimum level of reserves are specified as follows: a health insurer must be able to meet its financial obligations at the end of the year even if it has suffered an exceptionally unfavourable year, defined as a year an insurer should expect to experience on average once in a hundred years. In other words, the KVG solvency test puts the probability of a disaster at 1 per cent. With the required reserves (minimum level), the health insurer should just be able to withstand the average loss suffered in such an exceptional year.

Health insurers’ risks

The KVG solvency test is based on the Swiss Solvency Test (SST) used by the Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) to assess the capital strength of private insurers. Like the SST, it takes account of the following risks:

  • Market risk encompasses risks on the financial markets, for example the risk of falling share prices.
  • Credit risk involves the risk of a borrower defaulting on its debts.
  • The insurance risk concerns the risks of the insurance business. The KVG solvency test takes account of the special features of social health insurance. This includes risk equalisation between health insurers, as the exact amount of levies and contributions is set retrospectively. Another risk has to do with the fact that policyholders can switch insurer each year. For the new insurer, it is not easy to estimate the costs arising from newly enrolled members.

The solvency test also involves evaluating scenarios describing special situations such as pandemics. The test looks at the impact of such scenarios on the health insurer’s performance.

Documents to be submitted and other tools

All health insurers must complete an Excel form once a year, in which their risks are determined and their available reserves are recorded in detail. The current template for the KVG solvency test and the form for calculating the standard deviation in relation to risk equalisation are available for download from the beginning of February. The KVG solvency test form must be submitted together with the report by 30 April. Also available for download are a report template, instructions (including a technical annex) and FAQs.

Solvency test results

The KVG solvency test results and various analytical charts are published each autumn.

 

Last modification 16.04.2020

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Health and Accident Insurance Directorate
Premiums and Solvency Oversight Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht/reporting/kvg-solvenztest.html

Test de solvabilité LAMal des assureurs-maladie

Le test de solvabilité vérifie que les assureurs disposent d’assez de réserves financières. Rempli au début de chaque année, il prend en compte les risques qu’encourt la caisse jusqu’à la fin de l’année. Le test est satisfaisant si les réserves se situent au-dessus d’un niveau minimal défini par le test.

Le test de solvabilité LAMal évalue le niveau des risques encourus par les assureurs-maladie. Il détermine dans quelle mesure ces derniers peuvent les assumer. Le test fixe le niveau minimal des réserves comme suit : l’assureur-maladie doit toujours pouvoir satisfaire à ses engagements à la fin de l’année, même lorsque celle-ci a été exceptionnellement mauvaise. Une année exceptionnelle est définie comme une année qui se produit en moyenne une fois par siècle. En d’autres termes : la probabilité d’une catastrophe est fixée dans le test de solvabilité LAMal à 1%. Les réserves exigées (montant minimal) devraient suffire à l’assureur pour faire face à la perte moyenne d’une année exceptionnelle.

Risques encourus par les assureurs-maladie

Le test de solvabilité LAMal se fonde sur le Swiss Solvency Test (SST). Celui-ci sert à l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA) pour vérifier la solvabilité des assureurs privés. Il prend en compte :

  • le risque de marché, avec les dangers liés aux marchés financiers, par exemple le risque de chute du cours des actions ;
  • le risque de crédit, qui évalue le risque de défaut d’un débiteur ;
  • le risque d’assurance, c’est-à-dire les risques liés aux activités d’assurance : le test de solvabilité LAMal tient compte des spécificités de l’assurance-maladie sociale, notamment de la compensation des risques entre les caisses-maladie, le montant exact des redevances et des contributions étant fixé ultérieurement. Un autre risque est celui lié à la possibilité de changer annuellement de caisse. Pour l’assureur, il n’est pas facile d’estimer les coûts que génèrent les nouveaux clients.

Le test de solvabilité comporte également l’évaluation de scénarios. Ceux-ci décrivent des situations particulières comme, par exemple, une pandémie. Le test de solvabilité examine les répercussions de tels scénarios sur les résultats d’une caisse.

Documents à fournir et autres aides

Tous les assureurs-maladie doivent remplir chaque année un formulaire Excel qui quantifie leurs risques et détaille les réserves disponibles. Le Template (formulaire Excel) pour le test de solvabilité LAMal est disponible au téléchargement début février. Le formulaire pour le test de solvabilité LAMal doit être remis avec le rapport jusqu’au 30 avril. D’autres documents disponibles au téléchargement sont aussi mis à disposition : un modèle pour le rapport, un guide et une annexe technique ainsi qu’une FAQ.

Résultats du test de solvabilité

Les résultats du test de solvabilité LAMal et quelques évaluations graphiques sont publiées en automne.

Dernière modification 16.04.2020

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Unité de direction Assurance maladie et accidents
Section Primes et surveillance de la solvabilité
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 462 21 11
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/versicherungen/krankenversicherung/krankenversicherung-versicherer-aufsicht/reporting/kvg-solvenztest.html