“Migration and vulnerability factors” framework

Being in a precarious situation, working in the sex trade and belonging to a community from a country with a high prevalence of HIV are examples of vulnerabilities which, when accumulated, undermine people’s capacity for autonomy and self-determination in regard to preventing HIV/STIs. 

National framework for planning HIV/STI prevention efforts:

The situation of Switzerland’s migrant population varies greatly. While the majority of migrants are not particularly vulnerable, a number of vulnerability factors are displayed by some, which, when accumulated, undermine their capacity for autonomy (empowerment) and increase the risk of exposure to HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases.

Faced with this situation, the FOPH has worked with the Swiss AIDS Association, Swiss Sexual Health, the Swiss Red Cross, Agnodice and Aspasie to develop a national framework (MV Framework) designed to coordinate efforts to prevent HIV/STIs amongst this particularly vulnerable population.

The MV Framework identifies people with migrant status who come under Axis 1 of the National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections, and those who present vulnerabilities that come under Axis 2. Migrants belonging to Axis 1 are targeted with the LOVE LIFE campaign. Vulnerable migrants are targeted with specific HIV/STI prevention efforts, based around NPHS objectives and the MV Framework objectives.

Vulnerability factors

The MV Framework distinguishes between two categories of vulnerability factor:

  • Primary vulnerability factors
  • Reinforced vulnerability factors

Primary vulnerability factors include factors relating to direct exposure to HIV/STIs such as sex work, coming from a country with a high prevalence of HIV, men who have sex with men, transgender people, etc. Reinforced vulnerability factors consist of psychosocial factors that accentuate a primary vulnerability and/or undermine the capacity for autonomy and self-determination of migrants, such as a lack of health insurance, social and economic insecurity, social and emotional isolation, linguistic difficulties, etc.

A framework with three fields of action

The MV Framework is based on three fields of action and sets objectives. These fields are:

  • Human rights, participation, access to healthcare, empowerment of those concerned.
  • Access to information, to means of prevention, contraception and vaccination.
  • Screening, diagnosis, treatment and voluntary disclosure to partners.

Tools currently available

Today, the FOPH has up-to-date tools for working with its partners to define an HIV/STI prevention strategy for particularly vulnerable migrants. These tools are:

  • the MV Framework
  • The ANSWER survey analysis report
  • The SWAN survey analysis report
  • The evaluation of the APiS project
  • The evaluation of the Afrimedia project

Further information

Counselling and testing centres for HIV and other STI's

Do the risk assessment and find the right counselling and testing centre for you.

Communicable Diseases Legislation – Epidemics Act, (EpidA)

The new Federal Act of 3.12.2010 on the control of communicable human diseases (Epidemics Act; EpidA) has been in force since 1.1.2016, and enables a timely detection, monitoring, prevention and control.

Last modification 17.09.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/rahmenkonzept-migration-und-vulnerabilitaetsfaktoren.html

Cadre « Migration et facteurs de vulnérabilité »

La précarité, une activité dans le sexe tarifé ou l’appartenance à une communauté issue d’un pays à haute prévalence VIH sont des exemples de vulnérabilités qui, accumulées, fragilisent les capacités d’autonomie et d’autodétermination en matière de prévention VIH/IST.

Un cadre national pour la planification d’actions en prévention VIH/IST

La Suisse compte une population de personnes en situation de migration variée. Si la majorité des personnes migrantes ne présentent pas de spécificités particulières, une tranche d’elles présente un certain nombre de vulnérabilités qui, accumulées, fragilisent sa capacité d’autonomie (empowerment) et augmentent les risques d’exposition au VIH et aux autres infections sexuellement transmissibles.  

Face à cette situation, l’OFSP a développé avec L’Aide suisse contre le sida, Santé Sexuelle Suisse, La Croix Rouge suisse, Agnodice et Aspasie un cadre national (cadre MV) visant la coordination du travail de prévention VIH/IST auprès de cette population particulièrement vulnérable.  

Ce cadre MV identifie les personnes en situation de migration faisant partie de l’axe 1 du Programme national VIH et autres infections sexuellement transmissibles PNVI, et celles dont les vulnérabilités les rattachent à l’axe 2. Les personnes migrantes de l’axe 1 sont adressées par la campagne LOVE LIFE. Les personnes migrantes vulnérables font l’objet d’actions de prévention VIH/IST spécifiques qui s’articulent aux objectifs du PNVI et du cadre MV.

Les facteurs de vulnérabilité

Le cadre MV distingue deux catégories de facteurs de vulnérabilité :

  • Les facteurs de vulnérabilité primaire
  • Les facteurs de vulnérabilité renforcée  

Les vulnérabilités primaires englobent les facteurs d’exposition directe au VIH/IST comme une activité dans le sexe tarifé, être une personne issue d’un pays à haute prévalence VIH, les hommes ayant des rapports sexuels avec des hommes, les personnes transgenres, etc. Les vulnérabilités renforcées regroupent les facteurs psychosociaux qui accentuent une vulnérabilité primaire et/ou fragilisent les capacités d’autonomie et d’autodétermination des personnes migrantes tels que l’absence d’assurance maladie, la précarité sociale et économique, isolement social et émotionnel, les difficultés linguistiques, etc.   

Un cadre en trois champs d’action

Le cadre MV s’organise en trois champs d’action et fixe des objectifs. Ces champs sont :

  • Droits humains, participation, accès au système de santé, autonomisation des personnes concernées
  • Accès à l’information, au matériel de prévention, à la contraception et à la vaccination
  • Dépistage, diagnostic, traitement et information volontaire des partenaires.  

Les outils de travail actuels à disposition

L’OFSP dispose aujourd’hui d’outils de travail actualisés pour définir en collaboration avec ses partenaires une stratégie de prévention VIH/IST auprès des personnes migrantes particulièrement vulnérables. Ces outils sont :

  • La cadre MV
  • Le rapport d’analyse de l’enquête ANSWER
  • Le rapport d’analyse de l’enquête SWAN
  • L’évaluation du projet APiS
  • L’évaluation du projet Afrimedia

Documents


Migration facteurs vulnérabilité 2016+

Migration facteurs vulnérabilité 2016+

Cadre pour la planification d’actions en prévention du VIH et autres IST – Migration et facteurs de vulnérabilité 2016+. S’appuyant sur la collaboration partenariale de la Confédération avec les principales organisations non gouvernementales nationales, il pose les lignes directrices du futur travail VIH/ IST à l’intention des personnes migrantes.

Informations complémentaires

Centres de dépistage pour le VIH et d'autres IST

Evaluez votre risque et trouvez un centre de consultation et de dépistage VIH/IST approprié.

Législation Maladies transmissibles – Loi sur les épidémies (LEp)

La nouvelle loi fédérale du 3.12.2010 sur la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles de l’homme (loi sur les épidémies, LEp) est en vigueur depuis le 1.1.2016, et permet la détection précoce, la surveillance et la prévention.

Dernière modification 06.12.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division des maladies transmissibles
Section prévention & promotion
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 463 87 06
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationales-programm-hiv-und-andere-sexuell-uebertragbare-infektionen/zielgruppe-mit-erhoehtem-expositionsrisiko-achse2/rahmenkonzept-migration-und-vulnerabilitaetsfaktoren.html