International Health Regulations (IHR)

The International Health Regulations (2005) (IHR) govern international cooperation to control any events (natural, deliberate or accidental) which pose a threat to public health (infectious diseases, biological or chemical agents, ionising radiation). They also provide a regulatory framework for the WHO to declare a Public Health Emergency of International Concern (PHEIC). One of the main objectives of the IHR is to combat the global spread of infectious diseases without unnecessarily restricting the free movement of persons and goods.

Global entry-into-effect and adoption in Switzerland

The IHR in their revised edition of 2005 came into force at international level on 15 June 2007. The Swiss Federal Council approved the regulations without any reservations, and designated the FOPH’s Communicable Diseases Division as Switzerland’s focal point. The revised Epidemics Act has incorporated the IHR (2005) since 2016, and governs their application in Switzerland.

Amendments to the IHR

Switzerland is playing an active part in the discussions and negotiations on the amendments to the IHR (2005). More than 300 proposed amendments have been submitted by States Parties with a view to filling any regulatory gaps and strengthening their provisions.

The Working Group on Amendments to the International Health Regulations (2005)

The Working Group on Amendments to the International Health Regulations (2005) (WGIHR), which is dedicated to the amendment process of the IHR (2005), is composed of representatives from the 196 IHR States Parties. Negotiations are currently scheduled to run until May 2024. Switzerland’s active participation in such negotiations as a State Party is of key importance if the country is to represent its interests therein in a duly targeted manner.

As soon as an amended version of the IHR has been devised by the WGIHR, this will be published on the FOPH website. All the official documents relating to this process are available on the WHO website.

Switzerland’s position

Since the current negotiations are not intended to produce a full revision of the IHR but are instead focused on targeted amendments to the same, Switzerland holds the view – and represents this during the negotiations – that it is essential that the scope and the purpose of the IHR remain unchanged.

For Switzerland, the references in the IHR to human rights and fundamental freedoms are crucial and must be retained. These form the basis of our society, and were one of the key achievements of the 2005 revision.

Switzerland also attaches particular importance to the rapid and reliable exchange of information, including information on pathogen samples and genetic sequencing data (GSD). This is a key and, from Switzerland’s perspective, non-negotiable element for surveillance and early intervention. Switzerland is further opposed to the idea of attaching any conditions to the exchanges of epidemiological data.

Switzerland will only determine whether it agrees with the results of the present IHR amendment process once the negotiations have been concluded and the final amended document has been compiled. Switzerland will continue to have sovereignty over its own health policy and over the measures required in the event of a PHEIC, as well as in the event of a pandemic.

Last modification 29.05.2024

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Global Health Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/multilaterale-zusammenarbeit/organisation-mondiale-sante/reglement-sanitaire-international.html

Règlement sanitaire international (RSI)

Le RSI (2005) régit la coopération internationale visant à atténuer les événements présentant une menace pour la santé publique (que ceux-ci soient d’origine naturelle, accidentelle ou délibérée, et qu’ils impliquent des maladies infectieuses, des agents biologiques, chimiques ou des rayons ionisants). Il sert de cadre réglementaire à la déclaration d’une urgence de santé publique de portée internationale par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS). L’un de ses principaux objectifs consiste à empêcher la propagation des maladies infectieuses sans restreindre inutilement la circulation des personnes et des marchandises.

Entrée en vigueur au niveau international et mise en œuvre en Suisse

Le RSI révisé en 2005 est entré en vigueur le 15 juin 2007 au niveau international. Le Conseil fédéral a adopté cette révision sans réserve et a désigné la division Maladies transmissibles de l’OFSP comme point focal en la matière. Depuis sa révision entrée en vigueur en 2016, la loi sur les épidémies assimile le RSI et régit son application en Suisse.

Amendements au RSI (2005)

La Suisse participe activement aux discussions et aux négociations relatives aux amendements au RSI (2005). Les États membres ont soumis plus de 300 propositions d’amendement afin de le renforcer et de combler ses lacunes.

Groupe de travail sur les amendements au Règlement sanitaire international (2005)

Le Groupe de travail sur les amendements au RSI s’occupe du processus d’amendement et est composé des 196 États parties au RSI. Les négociations sont prévues pour l’instant jusqu’en mai 2024. La participation active de la Suisse, en tant qu’État partie, aux négociations en cours est importante pour qu’elle puisse faire valoir ses intérêts de manière ciblée.

Aussitôt qu’un projet de texte consolidé du RSI amendé aura été élaboré au sein du groupe de travail, il sera publié sur le site Internet de l’OFSP. De plus, tous les documents officiels liés à ce processus sont déjà disponibles sur le site de l’OMS.

Position de la Suisse

Comme les négociations actuelles ne portent pas sur une révision du RSI, mais sur des amendements ciblés, la Suisse estime qu’il est essentiel que la portée et le champ d’application du Règlement restent inchangés, et défend cette position dans les négociations.

Pour la Suisse, la référence que le RSI fait aux droits de l’homme et aux libertés fondamentales est cruciale et doit être maintenue. Elle constitue la base de la société et représente aussi l’un des acquis importants de la révision de 2005.

En outre, la Suisse estime en particulier que l’échange rapide et fiable d’informations est essentiel, ce qui comprend les échantillons d’agents pathogènes et les données issues du séquençage génétique. Il s’agit d’un élément important, et non négociable, pour la surveillance et l’intervention précoce. La Suisse s’oppose à l’idée d’assortir la moindre condition à l’échange de données épidémiologiques.

Ce n’est qu’à l’issue des négociations que la Suisse décidera si, conformément au contenu final négocié, elle approuve le résultat. Elle continuera de décider souverainement de sa propre politique sanitaire et des mesures nécessaires en cas d’urgence de santé publique de portée internationale, ainsi que de pandémie.

Dernière modification 29.05.2024

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Affaires internationales
Section Santé globale
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/multilaterale-zusammenarbeit/organisation-mondiale-sante/reglement-sanitaire-international.html