Global Health Security Agenda

Switzerland participates in the Global Health Security Agenda. Launched by the United States, this initiative is aimed at boosting the efficiency of the global fight against communicable diseases, including Ebola, polio and MERS coronavirus. 

Ministers and Heads of delegation at the 3rd Global Health Security Agenda Ministerial Meeting, Rotterdam (NL), 12th of October 2016

Aims of the GHSA

The GHSA is a multilateral initiative aimed at supporting implementation of the WHO International Health Regulations. The initiative includes eleven action packages, which are devoted to specific aspects of global health security. These include vaccination, the training of healthcare workers or antimicrobial resistance

How the GHSA works

Since it was founded in 2014, membership of the GHSA has increased to around fifty States. The GHSA is run by a multilateral Steering Group, comprising ten countries, and is supported by international organisations including the World Health Organisation (WHO), the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the World Organisation for Animal Health.

Switzerland's contribution

Switzerland is contributing to two action packages:

  • Antimicrobial resistance. In 2015, Switzerland published a comparative study on this subject, setting out different national strategies including best practices.
  • National laboratory system. Switzerland wishes to offer training and professional development opportunities in this field in order to improve laboratory capacities.

Switzerland was, moreover, one of the first countries to request an assessment of its capacity to implement the International Health Regulations. In addition, in February 2016, it launched an executive programme on global health security. This training is offered to nationals of GHSA member states as Switzerland's contribution to the initiative.

Last modification 19.07.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
Global Health Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/securite-sanitaire-internationale1/global-health-security-agenda.html

Global Health Security Agenda

La Suisse participe au Global Health Security Agenda. Lancée par les Etats-Unis, cette initiative a pour but d’accroître l’efficacité de la lutte globale contre les maladies transmissibles telles que l’Ebola, la poliomyélite ou le MERS-Coronavirus.

Les Ministres et Chefs de délégations à la 3ème Conférence ministérielle du Global Health Security Agenda, Rotterdam (NL), 12 octobre 2016

Objectifs du GHSA

Le GHSA est une initiative multilatérale destinée à soutenir la mise en œuvre du Règlement sanitaire international de l’OMS. L’initiative comprend onze paquets de mesures qui couvrent certains thèmes de la sécurité sanitaire mondiale tels que la vaccination, la formation du personnel de santé ou la résistance aux antimicrobiens.

Fonctionnement du GHSA

Depuis sa fondation en 2014, le nombre de membres a cru pour englober aujourd’hui une cinquantaine d’Etats. Le GHSA est piloté par un comité de direction multilatéral composé de dix Etats et conseillé par des organisations internationales telles que l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) ou l’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE).

Contribution de la Suisse

La Suisse contribue à deux paquets de mesures :

  • Résistance aux antimicrobiens. A ce titre, la Suisse a publié en 2015 une étude comparative de différentes stratégies nationales en vue de définir les bonnes pratiques.
  • Renforcement des capacités de laboratoire. La Suisse souhaite offrir des possibilités de formation et de développement professionnel dans ce domaine.

Par ailleurs, la Suisse a été l’un des premiers Etats à demander une évaluation de sa capacité à mettre en œuvre le RSI. En février 2016, elle a également lancé un programme exécutif sur la sécurité sanitaire internationale. Cette formation est offerte aux ressortissants d’Etats membres du GHSA à titre de contribution de la Suisse à l’initiative.

Dernière modification 19.07.2018

Début de la page

Contact

Office fédéral de la santé publique OFSP
Division Affaires internationales
Section Santé globale
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Suisse
Tél. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Imprimer contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/fr/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/internationale-gesundheitsthemen/securite-sanitaire-internationale1/global-health-security-agenda.html