Sexuality education

Educated children and youth protect themselves better against sexually transmitted infections and unwanted pregnancies. They develop healthier lifestyles too. The federal government is therefore supporting sexuality education in the cantons.

Why is sexuality education necessary?

Sexuality education plays an important role in preventing sexually transmitted infections, teenage pregnancies and sexual violence. It strengthens children’s and young people’s confidence, and enables a healthy approach towards sexuality.

Who needs sexuality education?

All children and youth in Switzerland are entitled to sexuality education. Access to up-to-date knowledge and skill-based teaching enables a healthy approach to sexuality, and contributes to preventing sexual abuse and diseases.

Who provides sexuality education?

Sexuality education forms the basis for sexual health promotion. It should begin at home and be supplemented through sexuality education in school to guarantee prevention and equal opportunity in access to relevant information. Therefore, sexuality education takes place wherever children and young people live. It may be planned or delivered without special concepts and rules, for example in day-care, a sports club or holiday camps.

Who is responsible for sexuality education?

Prevention of sexual infections, sexual abuse and protection of health are matters of public interest. The National Programme for HIV and Other Sexually Transmitted Infections NPHS defines the responsibilities and duties of the federal government, the cantons and the main players:
The federal government supports development-oriented sexuality education. Responsibility for implementation lies with the cantons. Teaching staff is trained at the Universities for Applied Sciences and specialised non-governmental organisations (NGO) assure the quality of the services offered. Sexuality education and information is a task of the school system and is described in the curriculum. The school supports the skill development of pupils through pedagogically adequate and evidence-based materials.  

Documents

Review of the principles of sexuality education (in German) (PDF, 332 kB, 20.02.2018)Report of the Federal Council in fulfilment of the postulate 14.4115 Regazzi of 10th December 2014. Bern, February 2018.

Review of the principles of sexuality education (in French) (PDF, 414 kB, 20.02.2018)Report of the Federal Council in fulfilment of the postulate 14.4115 Regazzi of 10th December 2014. Bern, February 2018.

Expert report on sexuality education (in German) (PDF, 3 MB, 20.02.2018)Expert report on sexuality education in Switzerland relating to international guidelines and selected analogue countries. Bern, June 2017.

Expert report on sexuality education (in French) (PDF, 3 MB, 20.02.2018)Expert report on sexuality education in Switzerland relating to international guidelines and selected analogue countries. Bern, June 2017.


Youth sexuality through changing times. (in German) (PDF, 3 MB, 26.01.2017)Influences, prospects.
Report by the Swiss Committee for Children and Youth Matters. Bern, 2009.

Framework paper on Sexuality Education and Schools. (in German only) (PDF, 1 MB, 27.01.2017)Foundations for Swiss-wide anchoring of sexuality education in school and considerations for training and further training of teaching staff in colleges.
Kompetenzzentrum Sexualpädagogik und Schule. Luzern, 2008.

Sexuality education and schools (in German) (PDF, 129 kB, 27.01.2017)A situation analysis.
Kompetenzzentrum Sexualpädagogik und Schule. Luzern, 2007.

Further information

Strategy

The NPHS is a national strategy for preventing, diagnosing and treating HIV and other STIs. You can download the programme here.

Last modification 20.02.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health
Public Health Directorate
Division of Communicable Diseases
Prevention and Promotion Section
CH - 3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 463 87 06

E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/themen/mensch-gesundheit/kinder-jugendgesundheit/sexualaufklaerung.html

Sexualaufklärung

Aufgeklärte Kinder und Jugendliche schützen sich besser vor sexuell übertragbaren Infektionen und unerwünschten Schwangerschaften. Und sie entwickeln sich gesünder. Der Bund unterstützt deshalb die Sexualaufklärung in den Kantonen.  

Warum braucht es Sexualaufklärung?

Sexualaufklärung leistet einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Prävention von sexuell übertragbaren Infektionen, Teenagerschwangerschaften und sexueller Gewalt. Sie stärkt Kinder und Jugendliche und fördert deren gesunde Entwicklung.

Wer braucht Sexualaufklärung?

Alle Kinder und Jugendlichen in der Schweiz haben ein Recht auf Sexualaufklärung. Der Zugang zu aktuellem Wissen und die Schulung von Kompetenzen fördern sie in ihrer gesunden Entwicklung und tragen zur Prävention von sexuellen Übergriffen und von Krankheiten bei.

Wer macht Sexualaufklärung?

Sexualaufklärung bildet die Basis für die Förderung der sexuellen Gesundheit. Sie sollte im Elternhaus beginnen und zu Präventionszwecken in der Schule fortgeführt werden, um die Chancengleichheit zu gewährleisten. Sexualaufklärung findet jedoch grundsätzlich überall da statt, wo Kinder und Jugendliche leben, beispielsweise in der Kita, im Sportverein oder im Ferienlager.

Wer ist verantwortlich für die Sexualaufklärung?

Die Prävention von sexuell übertragbaren Infektionen, von sexuellen Übergriffen und der Schutz der Gesundheit sind von öffentlichem Interesse. Das Nationale Programm HIV und andere sexuell übertragbare Infektionen (NPHS) definiert die Zuständigkeiten und Aufgaben von Bund, Kantonen und den wichtigsten Akteuren:

Der Bund unterstützt die entwicklungsgerechte Sexualaufklärung. Die Umsetzungsverantwortung liegt bei den Kantonen. Die Fachhochschulen bilden das Fachpersonal aus und Fachorganisationen sorgen für die Qualitätssicherung der Angebote. Die Sexualaufklärung und Information der Kinder und Jugendlichen ist eine Aufgabe der Schule, welche in den Lehrplänen beschrieben ist. Sie bereitet wissenschaftlich korrekte Informationen aufgrund von pädagogischen und didaktischen Überlegungen auf und fördert die Handlungskompetenzen der Kinder und Jugendlichen.

Dokumente

Prüfung der Grundlagen zur Sexualaufklärung (PDF, 332 kB, 20.02.2018)Bericht des Bundesrats in Erfüllung des Postulates 14.4115 Regazzi vom 10. Dezember 2014. Bern, Februar 2018.

Expertenbericht Sexualaufklärung (PDF, 3 MB, 20.02.2018)Sexualaufklärung in der Schweiz mit Bezug zu internationalen Leitpapieren und ausgewählten Vergleichsländern. Bern, Juni 2017.


Jugendsexualität im Wandel der Zeit. (PDF, 3 MB, 20.01.2017)Veränderungen, Einflüsse, Perspektiven.
Bericht der Eidgenössischen Kommission für Kinder- und Jugendfragen. Bern, 2009.

Grundlagenpapier Sexualpädagogik und Schule (PDF, 1 MB, 20.01.2017)Grundlagen für die schweizweite Verankerung von Sexualerziehung in der Schule sowie Überlegungen für die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Lehrpersonen an Hochschulen.
Kompetenzzentrum Sexualpädagogik und Schule. Luzern, 2008.

Sexualpädagogik und Schule (PDF, 129 kB, 20.01.2017)Eine Situationsanalyse.
Kompetenzzentrum Sexualpädagogik und Schule. Luzern, 2007

Weiterführende Themen

Strategie des NPHS

Das NPHS ist eine Nationale Strategie zur Prävention sowie zur Diagnose und Behandlung von HIV und anderen STI. Das Programm können Sie hier herunterladen.

Letzte Änderung 27.02.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit
Dienstbereich Öffentliche Gesundheit
Übertragbare Krankheiten
Prävention und Promotion
CH - 3003 Bern

Tel.
+41 58 463 87 06

E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/themen/mensch-gesundheit/kinder-jugendgesundheit/sexualaufklaerung.html