Cooperation with neighbouring States

In matters of public health, Switzerland's neighbouring States are important partners. Joint discussions and cooperation produce valuable input that can be used to reform the health system and protect the health of the population.

Signature of the Final declaration at the 4th meeting of the Health Quintet. From left to right: Mauro Pedrazzini, Minister for Health, Liechtenstein; Alain Berset, federal Councillor, Switzerland; Lydia Mutsch, Minister for Health and Equal opportunities, Luxembourg; Hermann Gröhe, Federal Minister for Health, Germany; Clemens Auer, Responsible sektion I, Health systems, central coordination, Minister for Health and for Women, Austria (deputising for Sabine Oberhauser, Minister for Health), Luxembourg (LU), 26th of August 2016
Source: SIP/Luc Deflorenne

Importance of cooperation

Cooperation with neighbouring States is based on a number of different aspects:

  • Health systems with identical features. I.e. Austria and Germany also have a federal division of competences.
  • Similar public health challenges, including the response to be given to the issue of dementia, developing the quality of health systems and price controls for drugs.
  • Border regions have a particular need for cooperation in order to ensure the continuity of healthcare provision.

The “Health Quintet”

The "Health Quintet" is an annual meeting of health ministers from the German-speaking States, which is held in an informal setting. Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Switzerland take turns to host the meeting. The meeting is not limited to ministerial level but also deepens the cooperation and exchanges at expert level. Eventually, the platform facilitates the launch of joint health initiatives.

Areas and forms of cooperation

Cooperation takes place at different levels and on different platforms.

  • Bilateral exchanges with the neighbouring States take regularly place at ministerial level, sometimes in the context of multilateral events. These contacts have been intensified over the past few years in compliance with the Health2020 strategy.

  • Some formal cross-border cooperation exist with our neighbouring countries in the form of pilot projects or agreements. Furthermore, a framework agreement on cross-border cooperation in the field of health has been signed in 2016 with France but not yet ratified.

  • Discussions between experts are also organised to exchange best practices and to deal with a wide range of health topics.
Logo Health 2020

Strategy Health2020

Going forward the Swiss healthcare system has to maintain its high quality and remain fundable and accessible to everyone. This is the goal of the 36 measures set out in the federal administration’s Health2020 strategy. Find out more here.

Last modification 17.08.2018

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Public Health FOPH
International Affairs Division
EU and neighbouring States Section
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Berne
Switzerland
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-mail

Print contact

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/en/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/relations-bilaterales/Collaboration-etats-voisins.html

Zusammenarbeit mit den Nachbarstaaten

In der öffentlichen Gesundheit sind die Nachbarstaaten wichtige Partner der Schweiz. Der Austausch und die Zusammenarbeit geben wertvolle Impulse für die Reform des Gesundheitswesens und den Gesundheitsschutz der Bevölkerung.

Unterzeichnung Schlusserklärung
Unterzeichnung der gemeinsamen Schlusserklärung am 7. Gesundheitsquintett in Zürich (CH), 15. September 2019. Personen von links nach rechts: Mauro Pedrazzini, Minister für Gesellschaft, Fürstentum Liechtenstein; Jens Spahn, Bundesminister für Gesundheit, Deutschland; Bundesrat Alain Berset, Schweiz; Dr. in. Brigitte Zarfl, Bundesministerin für Arbeit, Soziales, Gesundheit und Konsumentenschutz, Österreich; Anne Calteux, erste Regierungsrätin im Gesundheitsministerium, Luxemburg

Bedeutung der Zusammenarbeit

Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Nachbarstaaten beruht auf mehreren Aspekten:

  • Die Gesundheitssysteme weisen Gemeinsamkeiten auf. Deutschland und Österreich kennen beispielsweise ebenfalls eine föderale Kompetenzverteilung.
  • Es stellen sich ähnliche Herausforderungen in der öffentlichen Gesundheit, beispielsweise im Umgang mit der Herausforderung Demenz, der Entwicklung der Versorgungsqualität oder der Kontrolle der Medikamentenpreise.
  • In den Grenzregionen besteht ein erhöhter Bedarf an Zusammenarbeit, da insbesondere bei der Gesundheitsversorgung für Grenzgängerinnen und Grenzgänger Kontinuität sichergestellt werden muss.

Das «Gesundheitsquintett»

Einmal pro Jahr findet ein informelles Treffen der Gesundheitsminister der deutschsprachigen Länder statt. Österreich, Deutschland, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg und die Schweiz organisieren das Treffen abwechslungsweise. Das Gesundheitsquintett beschränkt sich nicht auf die Ministerebene, sondern vertieft auch Zusammenarbeit und Austausch auf Fachebene. Nicht zuletzt ermöglicht es diese Plattform, gemeinsame Initiativen auf internationaler Ebene zu lancieren.

Bereiche und Formen der Zusammenarbeit

Die Zusammenarbeit erfolgt auf verschiedenen Ebenen und über verschiedene Plattformen:

  • Auf Ministerebene findet der Austausch im Rahmen bilateraler Treffen oder am Rande multilateraler Veranstaltungen (z.B. Weltgesundheitsversammlung der WHO oder informelle EU-Ministertreffen) statt. In den letzten Jahren konnten diese Beziehungen im Sinne der Strategie Gesundheit2020 vertieft werden.
  • Eine formelle Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Nachbarstaaten existiert in Form von grenzüberschreitenden Pilotprojekten oder entsprechenden Abkommen. So wurde 2016 mit Frankreich ein Rahmenabkommen über die grenzüberschreitende Zusammenarbeit im Gesundheitsbereich unterzeichnet. Es wird nach Ratifikation durch die beiden Parteien in Kraft treten.
  • Unter Fachpersonen findet regelmässig und in verschiedenstem Rahmen ein Austausch über ein breites Spektrum von Gesundheitsthemen statt.
Logo Gesundheit 2020

Strategie Gesundheit2020

Das Schweizer Gesundheitssystem muss auch in Zukunft qualitativ hochstehend, finanzierbar und für alle zugänglich bleiben. Dieses Ziel verfolgt die Strategie Gesundheit2020 des Bundes mit 36 Massnahmen. Informieren Sie sich hier.

Letzte Änderung 17.09.2019

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Gesundheit BAG
Abteilung Internationales
Sektion EU und Nachbarstaaten
Schwarzenburgstrasse 157
3003 Bern
Schweiz
Tel. +41 58 464 55 65
E-Mail

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.bag.admin.ch/content/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/internationale-beziehungen/relations-bilaterales/Collaboration-etats-voisins.html