Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Mobile phones and Smartphones

Mobiltelefon

The use of smartphones has grown strongly over the last few years; 97 per cent of the Swiss population aged 16 and above use a mobile phone or smartphone. At the same time the users' behaviour has also dramatically changed: mobile phones are used less for telephone calls, but significantly more for mobile internet applications.

Speech and data are transmitted back and forth via high-frequency radiation between a mobile phone and base stations, whereby the latter make the connection to the downstream telecommunication network. This involves the use of various technologies, such as classical mobile communication, Bluetooth, WLAN. The high-frequency electromagnetic radiation of these technologies leads to the head or the hand of a person being exposed to radiation when the mobile phone is held close to the ear when phoning or in the hand during other applications, such as for example mobile Internet. The electric currents in the electronics and the battery of the mobile phone generate low-frequency electromagnetic fields that likewise penetrate into the head or the hand.

Radiation occurs particularly when the mobile phone transmits; in the idle state the radiation exposure is low. The radiation decreases rapidly as the distance from the device increases.

During a telephone call the intensity of the exposure depends on various factors:

  • A mobile phone emits less radiation when connection quality is good than when it is poor. The quality of the connection is indicated by a set of bars on the phone's display.
  • The proportion of the radiation that is absorbed by the head when making a call varies according to the model of mobile phone. It is expressed as the specific absorption rate (SAR). The lower the SAR, the lower the radiation that is absorbed by the head. The SAR value that can be found in the instruction manual or on the Internet represents the maximum value of the device; in everyday use the SAR value can be lower.

The strengths of the electromagnetic fields depend on the particular technology. Telephoning with UMTS (3G) instead of GSM (2G) leads to significantly lower radiation exposure to the head area. The use of hands-free kits significantly reduces the radiation exposure to the head.

The effects on health from long-term exposure to high-frequency radiation from mobile phones remain uncertain at present; negative effects from short-term exposure are not expected.

The effects on health from long-term exposure to low-frequency magnetic fields generated by the electronics and batteries also remain uncertain at present; negative effects from short-term exposure are not expected.

The following tips may be helpful, should you wish to reduce your personal exposure from mobile phones or smartphones:

  • Use headphones or a wireless head set with a weak Bluetooth transmitter (power class 2 or 3) in order to reduce radiation to the head.
  • Preferably use modern radio networks such as LTE (4G) or UMTS (3G), which work with weaker radiation than the older GSM technology. In this regard, check the settings of your mobile phone or contact your sales outlet.
  • When inside buildings or in the train, if possible use WLAN for phone calls and data transfer. Check the settings of your mobile phone.
  • Be careful with protective and shielding products, which are intended to reduce radiation exposure. When the connection quality deteriorates, the mobile phone is forced to emit higher levels of radiation.
  • People with electronic medical implants should keep their mobile phone at least 30 cm away from the implant at all times.

 

Other recommendations:

  • NEVER use a mobile phone when driving a car. This is also true for conversations via a head set as you may likewise be distracted!
  • NEVER use a mobile phone on foot or on a bicycle when you cross the road or are in traffic.
Type: PDF
Detailed information Mobile phones & Smartphones
Valid from 27.05.2016 | Size: 471 kb | Type: PDF


Specialist staff: emf@bag.admin.ch
Last updated on: 24.02.2015

End Content Area

Full-text search

Contact

Non ionizing Radiation Competence and Information Centre

Tel. 058 462 96 14
Fax 058 462 83 83
emf@bag.admin.ch


http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/strahlung/00053/00673/04265/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Mobiltelefon und Smartphone

Mobiltelefon

In den letzten Jahren ist die Verwendung von Smartphones stark angewachsen, 97 Prozent der Schweizer Bevölkerung ab 16 Jahren nutzen ein Handy oder Smartphone. Gleichzeitig hat sich auch das Verhalten der Nutzerinnen und Nutzer stark verändert: Sie nutzen das Mobiltelefon weniger für Telefongespräche, dafür deutlich mehr für mobile Internetanwendungen.

Sprache und Daten werden über hochfrequente elektromagnetische Strahlung zwischen einem Mobiltelefon und Basisstationen hin und her übertragen, wobei letztere den Anschluss an das nachgeschaltete Telekommunikationsnetz vermitteln. Dabei kommen verschiedene Technologien wie der klassische Mobilfunk, Bluetooth, WLAN zum Einsatz. Die hochfrequente elektromagnetische Strahlung dieser Technologien führt zu einer Strahlenbelastung des Kopfes oder der Hand einer Person, wenn sie das Mobiltelefon zum Telefonieren direkt am Ohr oder für weitere Anwendungen wie beispielsweisemobiles Internet in der Hand hält. Die elektrischen Ströme der Elektronik und der Batterie des Mobiltelefons führt zu niederfrequenten elektromagnetischen Feldern, die ebenfalls in den Kopf beziehungsweise die Hand eindringen.

Die Strahlung tritt insbesondere dann auf, wenn das Mobiltelefon sendet, im Ruhezustand ist die Strahlenbelastung klein. Die Strahlung nimmt mit der Distanz zum Gerät rasch ab.

Die Stärke der Exposition während des Telefonats hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab:

  • Bei einer guten Verbindungsqualität strahlt das Mobiltelefon weniger als bei einer schlechten. Auf dem Display des Mobiltelefons wird die Verbindungsqualität mit Hilfe von Balken dargestellt.
  • Der Anteil der Strahlung, die beim Telefonieren in den Kopf eindringt, ist je nach Mobiltelefon-Modell unterschiedlich gross. Er wird durch die spezifische Absorptionsrate SAR ausgedrückt. Je kleiner der angegebene SAR-Wert ist, desto geringer ist die Strahlung, die der Kopf aufnimmt. Die SAR-Wert-Angabe, die Sie in der Gebrauchsanweisung oder im Internet finden, stellt den Höchstwert des Gerätes dar, im Alltagsbetrieb kann der SAR Wert kleiner sein.

Je nach Technologie entstehen unterschiedlich starke elektromagnetische Felder. Das Telefonieren mit UMTS (3G) anstelle von GSM (2G) führt zu deutlich tieferen Strahlungsbelastungen im Kopfbereich. Auch die Verwendung von Freisprecheinrichtungen erniedrigt die Strahlungsbelastung im Kopf deutlich.

Bezüglich gesundheitlicher Auswirkungen bei langfristiger Belastung durch hochfrequente Strahlung von Mobiltelefonen bestehen noch Unsicherheiten, kurzfristige negative gesundheitliche Auswirkungen sind keine zu erwarten.

Bezüglich gesundheitlicher Auswirkungen bei langfristiger Belastung durch niederfrequente Magnetfelder, die von Elektronik und Batterie stammen, bestehen ebenfalls noch Unsicherheiten, kurzfristige negative Auswirkungen sind keine zu erwarten.

Folgende Tipps helfen Ihnen, wenn Sie die persönliche Strahlenbelastung von Mobiltelefonen bzw. Smartphones verkleinern möchten:

  • Verwenden Sie NIE ein Mobiltelefon, während Sie ein Fahrzeug lenken. Dies gilt auch für Gespräche über eine Freisprecheinrichtung, die ebenfalls ablenken können!
  • Verwenden Sie NIE ein Mobiltelefon zu Fuss oder auf dem Fahrrad, wenn Sie Verkehrswege überqueren oder benutzen.
  • Verwenden Sie Kopfhörer oder eine drahtlose Freisprecheinrichtung (Head-Set) mit einem schwachen Bluetoothsender (Leistungsklasse 2 oder 3), um die Strahlung am Kopf zu reduzieren.
  • Nutzen Sie bevorzugt moderne Mobilfunknetze wie LTE (4G) oder UMTS (3G), die strahlungsärmer als die ältere Technologie GSM arbeiten. Überprüfen Sie diesbezüglich die Einstellungen Ihres Mobiltelefons oder wenden Sie sich an Ihre Verkaufsstelle.
  • Verwenden Sie im Innern von Gebäuden oder im Zug wenn möglich WLAN zum Telefonieren und zur Datenübertragung. Überprüfen Sie die Einstellungen ihres Mobiltelefons.
  • Vorsicht bei Schutz- und Abschirmprodukten, welche die Strahlenbelastung reduzieren sollen. Wenn die Verbindungsqualität verschlechtert wird, ist das Mobiltelefon gezwungen, stärker zu strahlen.
  • Personen, die ein elektronisches medizinisches Implantat tragen, sollten einen Abstand von 30 cm zwischen dem Mobiltelefon und dem Implantat einhalten.

 

Typ: PDF
Ausführliche Informationen Mobiltelefon und Smartphone
Gültig ab 27.05.2016 | Grösse: 369 kb | Typ: PDF


Fachkontakt: emf@bag.admin.ch
Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 24.02.2015

Ende Inhaltsbereich

Volltextsuche

Kontakt

Fach- und Informationsstelle nichtionisierende Strahlung

Tel. 058 462 96 14
Fax 058 462 83 83
emf@bag.admin.ch


http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/strahlung/00053/00673/04265/index.html?lang=de