Full-text search

Home Content Area



WLAN

wlan
A wireless local area network (WLAN) allows computers and laptops to be connected to each other, to peripheral devices (printers, scanners etc.) and to an Internet access point. WLAN-enabled mobile and cordless phones are increasingly being used for Internet telephony.
The data that need to be sent from one device to another are transmitted using a high-frequency radio link instead of a cable. Devices connected to a WLAN can both receive and transmit.

The level of electromagnetic energy emitted by the devices depends on their transmitting power and the volume of data being sent. This radiation is most intense when the maximum data volume is transmitted. It decreases rapidly with increasing distance from the transmitter. Even at maximum transmission power and data volume, the radiation emitted is 10 times lower than the recommended safety level at a distance of 20 cm from the transmitter, and 40 times lower at a distance of 1 metre.
It is currently not known whether the electromagnetic fields created by WLANs pose a risk to health. WLAN devices generally emit a low level of radiation, and caution should be exercised primarily when using devices held close to the body, such as laptops, PDAs and Internet telephones.
We would offer the following advice to people who prefer to minimise their personal exposure by keeping the electromagnetic fields in their home or office as small as possible:
  • Only switch your WLAN on when you need it. With laptops, in particular, it is a good idea to switch the WLAN off as otherwise the device will repeatedly try to connect to a network, leading to unnecessary radiation and a shorter battery life.
  • Don’t hold your laptop close to your body while it is connected to a WLAN.
  • Wherever possible, install the access point one metre away from places where you work, sit or rest for long periods of time.
  • Position the access point centrally so that all the devices in the network have good reception.
  • Choose the WLAN g standard in preference to the b standard. Exposure to radiation is lower with this standard because it transmits data more efficiently.
  • If it is possible to adjust the power of the network, the transmission power should be optimised at the access point for the area that needs to be supplied.
  • A WLAN transmitter must only be used with an antenna provided for this purpose by the manufacturer. If an unsuitable antenna with an excessive antenna gain is used, the maximum permitted transmission power may be exceeded.
  • The measures recommended by the FOPH for reducing radiation exposure when using mobile phones apply to WLAN-enabled mobile phones that are used for Internet telephony.

Detailed information

1. Structure and uses

2. Technical data

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), an international professional organisation, has published a family of 802.11 standards for WLANs; their output characteristics are shown in Table 1.

IEEE standard
802.11a
802.11b
802.11g
802.11h
Max. transmission power (mW)
200
100
100
200/1000
Mean transmission power of beacon (mW)
1
0.5
0.5
0.5
Mean transmission power (max.) (mW)
< 200
< 100
< 100
< 200
Frequency (MHz)
5150 –5250
2400 – 2483.5
2400 – 2483.5
5150 –5350
5470 -5725
Range (m)
50
up to 200
50
50
Power regulation
no
no
yes, static
yes, dynamic
Max. raw data rate (MBits/s)
54
11
54
54
Proliferation
low
outdated
widespread
low
Table 1: Properties of the various IEEE WLAN standards

The most widely used standard nowadays is 802.11g. The frequency ranges of the a and h standards are also used for other services in Switzerland (and Europe). This is why a-standard devices may only be used at reduced power and inside buildings.  The h standard has been adapted for Europe in such a way that it can free up the frequency immediately if it is needed by another service.

Data rates
The more recent standards 802.11 a, g and h incorporate high data rates. If several devices try to use an access point at the same time (e.g. several computers in a classroom), the transmission capacity of the connection is split, with the data rate for each device dropping accordingly.

Regulating transmission power
In the h standard the transmission power is regulated automatically depending on the reception quality. In addition, the transmission power of g-standard and h-standard access points can be regulated by the software to suit the area to be served.

Radiation
The level of energy emitted is determined primarily by the volume of data being transmitted. Even when no data are being transmitted, the access point still sends a signal (the beacon) lasting 0.5 ms every 100 ms to enable the other devices to synchronise with it. If a 100 mW access point is only transmitting the beacon, the mean energy emitted over time is 0.5 mW. However, if a large volume of data is being transmitted, the mean energy emitted can be up to 70 mW.
The radiation pattern is very irregular because a device can transmit as soon as no other data transfer is taking place. The beacon transmitted by the access point produces relatively evenly pulsed energy with a repetition frequency of 10 Hz, for example.

The effect of distance
The energy emitted by an antenna decreases greatly with increasing distance. It can also be weakened or reflected by obstructions such as walls. The data rate can therefore drop if there is a considerable distance between the access point and the networked devices, or if data have to contend with obstacles.
Devices that use the h standard have a longer range in the open because their transmission power is greater. At the same time, however, the energy emitted by these devices is attenuated to a greater degree by walls because of the higher frequency at which they operate, resulting in a lower range inside buildings.
WLANs are very sensitive; in other words, they can network even if the energy level is very low.

3. Measuring exposure

The best way to describe exposure is in terms of SAR (specific absorption rate). The SAR (in W/kg) shows how much energy (W) is absorbed by the human body (kg). The electrical field can be measured for devices which are used away from the body, and this field can be used to calculate the SAR.
A study commissioned by the FOPH measured the electrical field and the SAR of various access points, PC cards and a PDA [1]. Since the radiation emitted by the WLAN depends on the transmission power of the device and the rate at which data are transmitted, all the measurements were carried out at the maximum transmission power and data rate. The various standards use different modulation methods which produce different levels of energy. Although the g standard has a higher data rate than the b standard, the level of energy emitted tends to be lower than that produced by the b standard.

SAR

Maximum SAR values
Standard
Device
Data rate (Mb/s)
SAR (W/kg)
802.11a
Access point
30
0.54
 
PC card
13.3
0.07
802.11b
Access point
6
0.73
 
PC card
6.3
0.43
 
PDA
3.8
0.067
802.11g
Access point
26
0.27
 
PC card
21.5
0.11
Table 2: The maximum SAR measured and the data rate used are shown for each standard. SAR values were measured in a phantom human [1].

The maximum level recommended by the ICNIRP (International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection) is 2 W/kg [2]. The SAR values of all the devices measured are below this level.

Electrical field
E-Felder von WLAN Access Points und PC-Karten
Figure 2: Electrical field as a function of distance for two different WLAN access points (AP), PC cards and a PDA. Access point 2 can be operated using the 802.11 a, b or g standard, the PC card 2 using 802.11 b or g.
Electrical fields decrease greatly as the distance from the transmitter increases. The values are in all cases below the ICNIRP’s recommended threshold of 61 V/m. None of the devices reaches more than 10% of the ICNIRP’s recommended threshold at a distance of 20 cm, and they reach less than 2.5% at 1 metre.

WLAN hotspots
An area in which Internet access is available via a WLAN is called a hotspot. Hotspots may be accessible to the public (in stations, airports etc.) or limited to a specific set of users (in hotels, for example). Access points in buildings are typically mounted in the ceiling or walls, in rare instances in cavity floors; access points that supply outdoor areas are installed on the façade of a building or on the roof. Several access points may be installed in one hotspot.
The energy emitted by hotspots is also well below the ICNIRP’s recommended maximum level of 61 V/m.

4. Effects on health

Based on the current state of knowledge and available exposure measurements, the high-frequency radiation emitted by wireless networks is too weak to have an acute impact on health due to an increase in temperature following absorption. Long-term and non-thermal effects have not been researched sufficiently. The available studies on the effects of exposure to high-frequency EMF at low doses below the current thresholds do not suggest any risk to health from wireless networks.

Individual WLAN devices, such as WLAN-enabled laptops, mobile phones and PDAs, can lead to longer-term radiation exposure when used close to the body. At the moment the impact on health of such devices when used close to the body is uncertain; international research is currently investigating them in detail in connection with the effects of radiation emitted by mobile phones. Suitable precautions as described in the introduction to this fact sheet can minimise this exposure.

5. Regulation in law

WLANs are governed by the Swiss regulation on telecommunications systems (FAV) [3], which sets out the fundamental requirements that have to be met to protect the health and safety of users and other people. The threshold values on which the applicable standards are based are the same as the thresholds recommended by the ICNIRP. They are issued by bodies such as the European Committee for Electrotechnical Standardization CENELEC.

Legislation governing hotspots
The access points of public hotspots are stationary transmitters and as such are governed by the Regulation concerning protection against non-ionising radiation (NISV) [4].
Since the maximum permitted transmission power of WLAN access points is below 6 watts ERP, they do not have to comply with a precautionary limit on emissions, i.e. they do not have to operate below an additionally reduced limit for systems. However, hotspots have to comply with the less strict emission thresholds stated in the NISV if the whole human body is exposed equally to the radiated energy.
If people remain so close to the antenna of a hotspot that their whole body is not exposed equally, or only parts of their body are exposed, the emission threshold stated in the NISV does not apply. In this case the requirements of the Regulation on telecommunications systems (FAV) [3] and the ICNIRP threshold of 2 W/kg [2] for the specific absorption rate apply.

6. References

1: Kühn S et al. Development of Procedures for the EMF Exposure Evaluation from Wireless Devices in Home and Office Environments. Sup-plement 1: Close-to-Body and Base Station Wireless Data Communication Devices. 2006. IT'IS Report. See "Documents"
2: ICNIRP. Guidelines for limiting exposure to time-varying electric, magnetic and electromagnetic fields up to 300 GHz. Health Phys. 75: 494-521. 1998. See "Further information"
3: Regulation of 14 June 2002 concerning telecommunications systems, SR 784.101.2. See "Further information"
4: Regulation of 23 December 1999 concerning protection against non-ionising radiation, SR 814.710 (NISV). See "Further information"

Specialist staff: emf@bag.admin.ch
Last updated on: 30.01.2007

End Content Area

Full-text search

Contact

Non ionizing Radiation Competence and Information Centre

Tel. 031 322 96 14
Fax 031 322 83 83
emf@bag.admin.ch
weiss 145x1012

Documents

Further information

Computer- und Internetsicherheit

Links

Glossary



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/strahlung/00053/00673/03570/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich



WLAN

wlan
Mit einem drahtlosen lokalen Netzwerk (wireless local area network: WLAN) können Computer und Laptops untereinander, mit Zusatzgeräten (Drucker, Scanner, usw.) und mit einem Access Point für den Internetzugang verbunden werden. Zunehmend werden WLAN-fähige Handys und Schnurlostelefone für die Internettelefonie eingesetzt.
Die zwischen den Geräten zu übermittelnden Daten werden statt über Kabel mittels hochfrequenter elektromagnetischer Strahlung über Funk übertragen. Die angeschlossenen Geräte können sowohl senden als auch empfangen.

Wie stark die Geräte strahlen, hängt von der Sendeleistung und dem jeweiligen Datenverkehr ab. Die Strahlung ist bei maximalem Datenverkehr am grössten. Sie nimmt mit dem Abstand zum Sender schnell ab. Sie ist auch bei mit maximaler Sendeleistung und maximalem Datenverkehr in einer Entfernung von 20 cm 10-mal kleiner und in 1 m Abstand 40-mal kleiner als der empfohlene Grenzwert.
Ob die elektromagnetischen Felder von WLANs ein gesundheitliches Risiko darstellen, ist im Moment nicht bekannt. Die Strahlung von WLAN Geräten ist im Allgemeinen klein, ein vorsorglicher Umgang ist vor allem bei der körpernahen Anwendung von WLAN wie bei Laptops, elektronischen Agenden oder Internet-Telefonen sinnvoll.
Personen, die im Sinn einer persönlichen Vorsorge die elektromagnetischen Felder in ihrer Wohnung oder am Arbeitsplatz klein halten möchten, raten wir:

  • Das WLAN nur einschalten, wenn es gebraucht wird. Insbesondere beim Laptop ist es sinnvoll, das WLAN auszuschalten, weil sonst immer wieder nach einem Netz gesucht wird, was unnötige Strahlung verursacht und die Batterie entleert.
  • Den Laptop während der WLAN-Verbindung nicht am Körper halten.
  • Den Access Point möglichst einen Meter entfernt von lang besetzten Arbeits-, Aufenthalts- oder Ruheplätzen installieren.
  • Den Access Point zentral platzieren, damit alle zu versorgenden Geräte einen guten Empfang haben.
  • Den WLAN g-Standard dem b-Standard vorziehen. Wegen seiner effizienteren Datenübertragung ist bei diesem Standard die Strahlenbelastung reduziert.
  • Falls eine Leistungsregelung möglich ist, sollte beim Access Point die Sendeleistung entsprechend dem zu versorgenden Gebiet optimiert werden.
  • Ein WLAN-Sender darf nur mit einer vom Hersteller dafür bestimmten Antenne betrieben werden. Wird eine nicht passende Antenne mit zu grossem Antennengewinn verwendet, kann die maximal erlaubte Sendeleistung überschritten werden.
  • Für WLAN-fähige Handys, die für die Internettelefonie verwendet werden, gelten die Massnahmen des BAG zur Reduktion der Strahlenbelastung beim Handy-Telefonieren.

Ausführliche Informationen

1. Aufbau und Anwendungen

2. Technische Daten

Für WLAN wurden vom internationalen Berufsverband IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) verschiedene Standards der Familie 802.11 publiziert, deren Strahlungscharakteristiken in Tabelle 1 aufgeführt sind.

IEEE Standard
802.11a
802.11b
802.11g
802.11h
Max. Sendeleistung (mW)
200
100
100
200/1000
Gemittelte Sendleistung Beacon (mW)
1
0,5
0,5
0.5
Gemittelte Sendleistung max (mW)
< 200
< 100
< 100
< 200
Frequenz (MHz)
5150 –5250
2400 – 2483,5
2400 – 2483,5
5150 –5350
5470 -5725
Reichweite(m)
50
bis 200
50
50
Leistungsregelung
nein
nein
ja, statisch
ja, dynamisch
Max. Bruttodatenrate(MBit/s)
54
11
54
54
Verbreitung
wenig
veraltet
am weitesten
wenig
Tabelle 1: Eigenschaften der verschiedenen WLAN-Standards der IEEE

Der am häufigsten verwendete Standard ist heutzutage 802.11g. Die Frequenzbereiche des a- und h-Standards werden in der Schweiz (und Europa) auch für andere Dienste genutzt. Deshalb ist der Einsatz von Geräten des a-Standards nur mit reduzierter Leistung und in Gebäuden erlaubt. Der h-Standard wurde für Europa so angepasst, dass er die Frequenz sofort freigeben kann, wenn sie von einer anderen Anwendung gebraucht wird.

Datenraten
Die neueren Standards 802.11 a, g und h weisen hohe Datenraten auf. Falls mehrere Geräte gleichzeitig eine Verbindung zu einem Access Point benutzen wollen (z.B. mehrere Computer in einem Schulzimmer), wird die Übermittlungskapazität der Verbindung aufgeteilt, die Datenrate für die einzelnen Teilnehmergeräte sinkt dementsprechend.

Regelung der Sendeleistung
Beim h-Standard wird die Sendeleistung automatisch je nach Empfangsqualität geregelt. Ausserdem kann bei Access Points des g- und h-Standards die Sendeleistung je nach abzudeckendem Gebiet über die Software gesteuert werden.

Strahlung
Die tatsächlich abgestrahlte Leistung hängt in erster Linie vom Datenverkehr ab. Findet kein Datenverkehr statt, so sendet der Access Point trotzdem beispielsweise alle 100 ms während 0,5 ms ein Signal aus (den Beacon), damit sich die anderen Geräte mit ihm synchronisieren können. Wird von einem 100 mW-Access Point nur der Beacon ausgesendet, so beträgt die über die Zeit gemittelte Strahlungsleistung 0,5 mW. Werden jedoch viele Daten gesendet, so kann die gemittelte abgestrahlte Leistung bis 70 mW betragen.
Das Strahlungsmuster ist sehr unregelmässig, da ein Gerät senden kann, sobald kein anderer Datenverkehr stattfindet. Der Beacon des Access Points verursacht eine relativ gleichmässig gepulste Strahlung mit einer Repetitionsfrequenz von beispielsweise10 Hz.

Distanzabhängigkeit
Die von einer Antenne ausgesendete Strahlung nimmt mit der Distanz stark ab. Ausserdem kann die Strahlung durch Hindernisse wie Wände abgeschwächt oder reflektiert werden. Aus diesen Gründen kann bei längeren Distanzen zwischen Access Point und vernetzten Geräten oder bei Hindernissen die Datenrate sinken.
Im offenen Gelände ist die Reichweite für Geräte mit dem h-Standard wegen der grösseren Sendeleistung grösser. Wegen der höheren Frequenz wird die Strahlung durch Wände jedoch stärker gedämpft, was zu einer reduzierten Reichweite in Gebäuden führt.
WLANs weisen eine sehr hohe Empfindlichkeit auf, d.h. sie können sich noch bei sehr kleiner vorhandener Strahlung miteinander vernetzen.

3. Expositionsmessungen

Am besten wird eine Exposition durch den SAR-Wert (SAR: Specific Absorption Rate) beschrieben. Der SAR-Wert (in W/kg) gibt an, welche Menge der Strahlungsleistung (W) vom menschlichen Körper (kg) aufgenommen wird. Bei Geräten, welche entfernt vom Körper betrieben werden, kann auch das elektrische Feld gemessen werden, aus dem man den SAR-Wert berechnen kann.
In einer im Auftrag des BAG durchgeführten Studie wurden bei verschiedenen Access Points, PC-Karten und einem PDA das elektrische Feld und der SAR-Wert gemessen [1]. Da die Strahlenbelastung bei WLAN von der Sendeleistung des Gerätes und der übermittelten Datenrate abhängt, wurden alle Messungen mit maximaler Sendeleistung und maximaler Datenrate durchgeführt. Die verschiedenen Standards verwenden verschiedene Modulationsarten, welche zu unterschiedlichen Strahlenbelastungen führen. Obwohl der g-Standard eine höhere Datenrate hat als der b-Standard, ist die Strahlenbelastung eher geringer als beim b-Standard.

SAR-Wert

maximale SAR Werte
Standard
Gerät
Datenrate (Mb/s)
SAR (W/kg)
802.11a
Access Point
30
0,54
PC-Karte
13,3
0,07
802.11b
Access Point
6
0,73
PC-Karte
6,3
0,43
PDA
3,8
0,067
802.11g
Access Point
26
0,27
PC-Karte
21,5
0,11
Tabelle 2: Für jeden Standard sind der maximal gemessene SAR-Wert und die verwendete Datenrate angegeben. SAR-Werte wurden in einem Körperphantom gemessen [1]

Der von ICNIRP (International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection) empfohlene Grenzwert beträgt 2 W/kg [2]. Die SAR-Werte aller gemessenen Geräte liegen unterhalb dieser Grenzwertempfehlung.

Elektrisches Feld
E-Felder von WLAN Access Points und PC-Karten
Figur 2: Elektrisches Feld (E-Feld) als Funktion des Abstandes für zwei verschiedene WLAN Access Points (AP), zwei verschiedene PC-Karten und einen PDA. Access Point 2 kann mit den Standards 802.11 a, b, g betrieben werden, die PC-Karte 2 mit 802.11 b und g.
Die elektrischen Felder nehmen mit dem Abstand zum Sender stark ab. Die Werte liegen immer unterhalb der ICNIRP-Grenzwertempfehlung von 61 V/m. Im Abstand von 20 cm schöpft keines der Geräte mehr als 10% der ICNIRP-Grenzwertempfehlung aus, bei 1 m nicht einmal 2,5%.

WLAN-Hotspots
Ein räumlicher Bereich, in dem der Internetzugang über WLAN zur Verfügung steht, wird als Hotspot bezeichnet. Hotspots können entweder öffentlich zugänglich sein (Bahnhöfe, Flughäfen etc.) oder nur einem eingeschränkten Nutzerkreis zur Verfügung stehen (Hotels). Für die Versorgung in Gebäuden werden die Access Points typischerweise im Decken- oder Wandbereich – selten auch in Hohlböden – montiert, für die Aussenversorgung werden sie an der Aussenfassade oder auf dem Dach platziert. In einem Hotspot können mehrere Access Points installiert sein.
Auch die Immissionswerte von Hotspots liegen weit unterhalb der ICNIRP-Grenzwertempfehlung von 61 V/m.

4. Gesundheitliche Auswirkungen

Gemäss heutigem Kenntnisstand und aufgrund vorhandener Expositionsmessungen ist die durch drahtlose Netzwerke erzeugte hochfrequente Strahlung zu schwach, um durch Absorption über eine Erhöhung der Temperatur nachweisbare, akute gesundheitliche Wirkungen auslösen zu können. Langzeit- und nicht-thermische Auswirkungen sind zurzeit noch ungenügend erforscht. Aus den vorhandenen Studien über Auswirkungen hochfrequenter EMF im Niedrigdosisbereich, unterhalb der geltenden Grenzwerte, kann im Moment keine gesundheitliche Gefährdung durch drahtlose Netzwerke abgeleitet werden.

Einzelne WLAN-Geräte wie WLAN-fähige Laptops, Handys und PDAs können bei körpernahem Einsatz länger andauernde Strahlungsexpositionen verursachen. Im Moment bestehen Unsicherheiten über gesundheitliche Auswirkungen von solchen körpernah betriebenen Geräten, im Zusammenhang mit der Handystrahlung werden sie in internationalen Forschungsanstrengungen umfassend untersucht. Mit geeigneten und in der Einleitung beschriebenen Vorsorgemassnahmen kann diese Strahlungsbelastung minimiert werden.

5. Rechtliche Regelung

WLANs unterstehen der schweizerischen Verordnung über Fernmeldeanlagen (FAV) [3], in der grundlegende Anforderungen bezüglich des Schutzes der Gesundheit und der Sicherheit der Benutzenden und anderer Personen gestellt werden. Die den anwendbaren Normen zu Grunde liegenden Grenzwerte entsprechen den ICNIRP-Grenzwertempfehlungen. Sie werden beispielsweise vom europäischen Komitee für elektrotechnische Normung CENELEC herausgegeben.

Hotspots
Die Access Points von öffentlich zugänglichen Hotspots sind stationäre Sendeanlagen und fallen in den Geltungsbereich der Verordnung über den Schutz vor nichtionisierender Strahlung (NISV) [4].
Da die maximal erlaubte Sendeleistung von WLAN Access Points unterhalb von 6 Watt ERP liegt, sind sie von einer vorsorglichen Emissionsbegrenzung ausgenommen, d. h. sie müssen keinen zusätzlich reduzierten Anlagegrenzwert einhalten. Hingegen müssen bei Hotspots die weniger strikten Immissionsgrenzwerte der NISV eingehalten dann werden, falls der ganze menschliche Körper gleichmässig mit der Strahlung exponiert ist.
Falls sich bei Hotspots Menschen so nahe an den Antennen aufhalten, dass der Körper nicht mehr gleichmässig bestrahlt wird oder nur Teile des Körpers exponiert werden, ist der Immissionsgrenzwert der NISV nicht mehr anwendbar. In diesem Fall gelten die Anforderungen der Verordnung über Fernmeldeanlagen (FAV) [3], bzw. der ICNIRP-Grenzwert von 2 W/kg für die spezifische Absorptionsrate [2].

6. Literatur

1: Kühn S et al. Development of Procedures for the EMF Exposure Evaluation from Wireless Devices in Home and Office Environments. Sup-plement 1: Close-to-Body and Base Station Wireless Data Communication Devices. 2006. IT'IS Bericht. Siehe "Dokumente"
2: ICNIRP. Guidelines for limiting exposure to time-varying electric, magnetic and electromagnetic fields up to 300 GHz. Health Phys. 75: 494-521. 1998. Siehe "Weitere Informationen"
3: Verordnung vom 14. Juni 2002 über Fernmeldeanlagen, SR 784.101.2. Siehe "Weitere Informationen"
4: Verordnung vom 23. Dezember 1999 über den Schutz vor nichtionisierender Strahlung, SR 814.710 (NISV). Siehe "Weitere Informationen"

Fachkontakt: emf@bag.admin.ch
Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 30.01.2007

Ende Inhaltsbereich

Volltextsuche

Kontakt

Fach- und Informationsstelle nichtionisierende Strahlung

Tel. 058 462 96 14
Fax 058 462 83 83
emf@bag.admin.ch
weiss 145x1012

Dokumente

Typ: PDF

Bericht in Erfüllung des Postulates 04.3594 Allemann
16.03.2007 | 547 kb | PDF

Weitere Informationen

Computer- und Internetsicherheit

Links

Glossar



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/strahlung/00053/00673/03570/index.html?lang=de