Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



FAQ about the requirement to take out insurance

01. Is health insurance compulsory in Switzerland?
Yes. Health insurance is compulsory in Switzerland.
You need health insurance in particular:
- If you are resident in Switzerland, irrespective of your nationality. All the members of your family, both adults and children, require insurance.
- If you have a Swiss residence permit valid for three months or longer.
- If you are working in Switzerland for less than three months and do not have equivalent insurance cover from another country which is valid in Switzerland.
- If you are a Swiss national or a national of an EU/EFTA country, are working in Switzerland and are resident in a member state of the EU, in Iceland or in Norway. This also applies to any members of your family who are not employed.
- If you are a Swiss national or a national of an EU/EFTA country whose only source of income is a Swiss pension and are resident in a member state of the EU, in Iceland or in Norway. This also applies to any members of your family who are not employed.
- If you are receiving unemployment benefit from Switzerland and go to an EU/EFTA country for 3 months to look for work.
- If your Swiss employer posts you abroad to work for a limited period of time, you continue to be insured under the health insurance scheme during the posting. You can find more information in the information sheets on social insurance for posted workers (http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/internationales/02765/index.html?lang=en).
02. What happens if I do not take out insurance?
The authority designated by the canton will automatically register anyone required to take out insurance who fails to comply with this obligation in good time. The health insurance fund will then be chosen by the cantonal authority on your behalf.
03. When is insurance no longer required?
Insurance coverage ceases when a policyholder is no longer subject to compulsory insurance:
- if he or she dies
- if he or she leaves Switzerland to take up residence in another country and is not required to remain insured in Switzerland on the basis of the bilateral agreements with the EU or the agreement with EFTA countries (e.g. cross-border commuters, pensioners and their family members.
04. Who is exempted from the obligation to obtain insurance in Switzerland?
You do not have to take out insurance:
- if you are a Swiss citizen or national of an EU/EFTA state and live in Switzerland but work in an EU/EFTA member state or receive your pension only from an EU/EFTA state;
- if you are an EU/EFTA member state national or Swiss national and have been sent from an EU/EFTA member state to Switzerland for a period of up to 24 months;
- if you are member of a diplomatic or consular mission or are employed by an international organization which enjoys privileges under international law.
- if you come to Switzerland only for medical treatment or a cure.
The following people are exempted on request provided that, throughout the period for which the exemption is valid, they have equivalent insurance coverage for healthcare in Switzerland:
- people who are required to have health insurance under the law of a country with which no agreement has been concluded concerning limitation of the obligation to obtain insurance, insofar as liability to Swiss insurance would impose a double burden;
- people staying in Switzerland for purposes of basic or advanced training, such as students, pupils and trainees, and family members accompanying them;
- workers posted to Switzerland who are exempted from liability to pay Swiss old-age and Survivors' / Invalidity Insurance (AHV/IV) contributions under an international social security agreement, together with family members accompanying them;
- people residing in a member state of the EU, insofar as they may be exempted from the obligation to obtain insurance under the bilateral Agreement on Free Movement of Persons and Annex II thereto;
- holders of a residence permit for persons not pursuing an economic activity in accordance with the Agreement on Free Movement of Persons and the European Free Trade Agreement.
The following are also exempted on request:
- people for whom membership of a Swiss insurance scheme would entail a marked deterioration in insurance coverage or in reimbursement of expenses and who, on account of their age and/or state of health, could not obtain comparable supplementary insurance or could only do so on terms that would be difficult to accept;

Requests will be assessed by the relevant cantonal authorities, or in the case of pensioners living in an EU/EFTA state, by the HIA Collective Institution. For further information or to obtain the necessary forms, please contact the competent authority directly where you are residing/staying or where you work.
http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/06377/06508/index.html?lang=de.
05. My child was born at the end of the month. I registered in Switzerland in the middle of the month. My husband died at the beginning of the month. Is the insurer entitled/obliged to charge a premium for the whole month?
No. Following a decision taken by the Federal Supreme Court concerning the divisibility of premiums under compulsory health insurance (decision of 3 December 2015) the premium is divisible. This means that in the event of a birth or a death, or if someone moves to Switzerland or moves away, the insurer has to calculate the premiums to the day. This rule has been in effect since 3 December 2015.
06. Within which period do I have to take out insurance, and what are the consequences of delayed registration?
You have to take out health insurance within three months of the beginning of compulsory insurance (e.g. of the date you take up residence or give birth to a child in Switzerland). The insurance is then back-dated to the beginning of compulsory insurance. Since expenses are reimbursed retroactively, consequently it is mandatory to pay the premiums retroactively from the beginning of coverage on.

If you do not meet this three-month deadline, your insurance cover will only take effect from the date you register, and you will have to pay a premium supplement unless you can give good reasons for the delay.
07. Am I free to choose a health insurance fund?
Yes, the health insurance fund can be freely chosen; however, the fund in question must be approved in accordance with the Health Insurance Law.

A list of current premiums, by health insurance fund and canton/region, can be found at: http://www.priminfo.ch.
08. Can a health insurance fund refuse to insure me or attach conditions?
No. As far as compulsory health insurance (basic insurance) is concerned, all health insurance funds are obliged to accept your application irrespective of your age and state of health, and without stipulating any conditions or waiting period.
09. 9. Can a health insurance fund require me to complete a health questionnaire when I apply for basic insurance?
No. If you are subject to compulsory insurance, the health insurance fund has to accept your application irrespective of your age and state of health. It may not stipulate conditions or a waiting period. For this reason, you cannot be required to complete a health questionnaire.

In contrast, when you apply for supplementary insurance, the health insurance fund is entitled under the Federal Act on Insurance Policies to enquire about your state of health, to attach conditions, or simply to reject your application.
10. What can I do if a health insurance fund does not reply to my application?
If you wish to register with a health insurance fund, but it does not reply to your application or seeks to impose a deductible or coverage which does not suit you, our advice would be as follows: using registered mail, send this health insurance fund your application for basic health insurance, indicating your choice of deductible (either the standard rate or one of the options offered by the insurer in question) and the date on which coverage should start.
11. Can I suspend my accident cover if I am already covered under the Accident Insurance Act?
Yes. Your insurer will suspend this cover on request if you provide evidence that you are fully covered in accordance with the Accident Insurance Law. Your health insurer will then reduce your premium accordingly.
12. Can I suspend my health insurance during military or community service?
Yes, you can suspend your insurance during periods of service lasting longer than 60 consecutive days (e.g. basic military training, community service, protection and support (P&S) service). During these periods, the risk illness and the risk accident are covered by military insurance. Your health insurance fund will refund your premiums. The competent military or community authorities inform you about the procedure.
13. Do I have to remain insured in Switzerland when I am temporarily abroad (travelling, studying)?
Yes. If you leave the country for a certain period to travel or study but do not take up residence abroad, you are still required to have insurance in Switzerland (even if you have informed the local authority of your absence).
14. If I take up residence abroad, can I retain my basic health insurance in Switzerland?
Essentially, insurance coverage ceases when you leave Switzerland. Certain groups of persons who move to an EU or EFTA country (e.g. pensioners, cross-border commuters and their family members) are still subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.

In addition, for people who were subject to compulsory health insurance, insurers may (but are not obliged to!) offer to continue to provide coverage on a contractual basis. The contract may be concluded with the same or a different insurer. The insurance relationship is then governed by insurance contract law.

Enquiry for the topic
Last updated on: 24.09.2015

End Content Area

Full-text search



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/04114/04123/index.html?lang=en

Début secteur de contenu

Début navigateur

Fin navigateur



FAQ concernant l'obligation de s'assurer

01. L’assurance-maladie est-elle obligatoire en Suisse ?
Oui, l’assurance-maladie est obligatoire en Suisse.
Vous devez notamment prendre une assurance:
- Si vous êtes domicilié en Suisse (quelle que soit votre nationalité). La couverture d’assurance est individuelle pour les adultes comme pour les enfants (pas d’assurance familiale).
- Si vous avez un permis de séjour valable de 3 mois ou plus.
- Si vous travaillez en Suisse pour une courte durée (moins de trois mois) et que votre couverture d'assurance n'est pas équivalente à celle de l'assurance-maladie suisse.
- Si vous êtes Suisse ou ressortissant d’un Etat membre de l’UE ou de l’AELE, que vous tra-vaillez en Suisse et êtes domicilié dans un pays de l’UE, en Islande ou en Norvège. Cela vaut aussi pour les membres de votre famille sans activité lucrative.
- Si, en votre qualité de citoyen suisse ou de ressortissant d’un pays de l’UE ou de l’AELE, vous bénéficiez exclusivement d’une rente suisse et êtes domicilié dans un pays de l’UE, en Islande ou en Norvège. Cela vaut aussi pour les membres de votre famille sans activité lucrative.
- Si vous percevez des allocations chômage de Suisse et que vous vous rendez dans un pays de l’UE ou de l’AELE pendant 3 mois afin de chercher du travail.
– Si vous travaillez pour votre employeur suisse temporairement dans un autre pays, vous restez soumis à l'assurance-maladie suisse pendant la durée du détachement. Vous trouverez des renseignements supplémentaires dans les fiches d'information sur la sécurité sociale des détachés (http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/internationales/02765/index.html?lang=fr).
02. Que se passe-t-il si je ne m’assure pas?
Si l’autorité désignée par le canton constate que vous n'avez pas donné suite à l'obligation de vous assurer en temps utile, c'est cette autorité qui vous affiliera. Dès lors, c’est l’autorité cantonale qui choisit un assureur-maladie à votre place.
03. Quand est-ce que l’assurance obligatoire prend fin?
La couverture d’assurance prend fin lorsque l’assuré cesse d’être soumis à l’obligation de s’assurer :
- s’il décède
- s’il quitte son domicile en Suisse pour en prendre un dans un autre pays et qu’il ne reste pas soumis à l’obligation de s’assurer en Suisse en vertu des accords bilatéraux avec l’UE et l’AELE.
04. 4. Qui peut être excepté de l’obligation de s’assurer en Suisse?
Vous n’avez pas besoin de souscrire d’assurance :
– si, en tant que citoyen suisse ou ressortissant d'un Etat membre de l'UE/AELE, bien que vous résidiez en Suisse, vous exercez une activité lucrative dans un pays de l’UE ou de l’AELE ou que vous bénéficiez exclusivement d’une rente d’un pays de l’UE ou de l’AELE;
– si, en tant que ressortissant d’un pays de l’UE, de l’AELE ou de la Suisse, vous êtes détaché en Suisse pour une période n’excédant pas 24 mois;
– si vous êtes membre d’une mission diplomatique ou consulaire ou si vous êtes employé d'une organisation internationale et que vous bénéficiez de privilèges en vertu du droit international.
– si vous vous rendez en Suisse exclusivement pour un traitement médical ou une cure.
Sont exceptées sur requête les personnes ci-après, pour autant que, pendant toute la durée de validité de l’exception, elles bénéficient d’une couverture d’assurance équivalente pour les traitements en Suisse :
– les personnes qui sont obligatoirement assurées contre la maladie en vertu du droit d’un Etat avec lequel il n’existe pas de réglementation sur la délimitation de l’obligation de s’assurer, dans la mesure où l’assujettissement à l’assurance suisse signifierait une double charge;
– les personnes qui séjournent en Suisse dans le cadre d’une formation ou d’un perfectionnement, telles que les étudiants, les écoliers et les stagiaires, ainsi que les membres de leur famille qui les accompagnent;
– les travailleurs détachés en Suisse qui sont exemptés de l’obligation de payer les cotisations de l’assurance-vieillesse, survivants et invalidité suisse (AVS/AI) en vertu d’une convention internationale de sécurité sociale, ainsi que les membres de leur famille qui les accompagnent;
– les personnes qui résident dans un Etat membre de l’UE, pour autant qu’elles puissent être exceptées de l’obligation de s’assurer en vertu de l’accord sur la libre circulation des personnes et de son annexe II (exercice du droit d'option) ;
– les personnes qui disposent d’une autorisation de séjour pour personnes sans activité lucrative conformément à l’Accord sur la libre circulation des personnes et à l’Accord AELE.
Sont en outre exceptées sur requête :
– les personnes dont l’adhésion à l’assurance suisse engendrerait une nette dégradation de la protection d’assurance ou de la couverture des frais et qui, en raison de leur âge et/ou de leur état de santé, ne pourraient pas conclure une assurance complémentaire ayant la même étendue ou ne pourraient le faire qu’à des conditions difficilement acceptables.
Ce sont les autorités cantonales compétentes, ou l'institution commune LAMal pour les rentiers domiciliés dans un Etat de l'UE/AELE, qui statuent sur les requêtes. Pour de plus amples informations ou pour recevoir les formulaires nécessaires, vous pouvez vous adresser directement à l’autorité compétente de votre lieu de domicile/séjour/travail.
http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/06377/06508/index.html?lang=fr.
05. Mon enfant est né à la fin du mois. J’ai déclaré mon arrivée en Suisse au milieu du mois. Mon époux est décédé au début du mois. L’assureur peut-il/doit-il facturer une prime pour le mois en entier?
Non. En raison d’une jurisprudence du Tribunal fédéral relative à la divisibilité de la prime de l'assurance obligatoire des soins (arrêt du 3 décembre 2015, 9C_268/2015), la prime de l’assurance-maladie de base est divisible. Cela signifie que les assureurs doivent calculer les primes en jours en cas de naissance, de décès, de prise de domicile en Suisse ou de départ à l'étranger. Cette nouvelle règle est valable dès le 3 décembre 2015.
06. Dans quels délais dois-je m’assurer et quelles sont les conséquences d’une affiliation tardive ?
Vous devez vous assurer auprès d'un assureur-maladie dans les trois mois à compter du moment où l'obligation de s'assurer s’applique, p. ex., après votre prise de domicile ou dès la naissance d’un enfant en Suisse, avec effet rétroactif au début de l'obligation d'assurance. Puisque les frais éventuels vous sont remboursés avec effet rétroactif dès votre affiliation à l’assurance, vous devez aussi vous acquitter rétroactivement des primes dues depuis le début de l’assurance.

En cas d’affiliation tardive, l’assurance déploie ses effets seulement dès l’affiliation et vous devez verser un supplément de prime si le retard n’est pas justifié.
07. Puis-je choisir librement un assureur-maladie?
Oui, vous avez le libre choix de l’assureur-maladie, il doit toutefois s’agir d’un assureur-maladie admis au sens de la loi fédérale sur l’assurance-maladie.

Une liste des primes actuelles par assureur-maladie et canton/région se trouve sous: http://www.priminfo.ch.
08. Un assureur-maladie peut-il refuser de m’affilier ou mettre des réserves?
Non. En ce qui concerne l’assurance obligatoire des soins (assurance de base), toutes les assurances-maladie doivent vous accepter quels que soient votre âge et votre état de santé; ceci sans réserves ni délai d'attente.
09. Un assureur-maladie peut-il me demander de remplir un questionnaire de santé lors de ma demande d’affiliation pour l’assurance de base ?
Non. Si vous êtes soumis à l'assurance obligatoire des soins, l’assureur-maladie doit vous accepter quels que soient votre âge et votre état de santé. Il ne peut émettre aucune réserve ni fixer de délai d'attente. C’est pourquoi aucun questionnaire de santé ne peut être exigé.

Par contre, lors d’une demande d’affiliation à une assurance complémentaire l’assureur est en droit de poser des questions sur votre état de santé, d’émettre des réserves ou tout simplement de refuser votre affiliation, en vertu de la loi fédérale sur le contrat d’assurance.
10. Que puis-je faire si l’assureur-maladie ne répond pas à ma demande d’affiliation?
Vous souhaitez vous affilier auprès d’un assureur-maladie, mais celui-ci ne réagit pas à votre demande d’affiliation ou vous impose une franchise ou une autre caisse-maladie qui ne vous conviennent pas. Si tel est le cas, nous vous conseillons d’envoyer à cet assureur-maladie votre demande d’affiliation pour l’assurance-maladie de base avec indication de la franchise choisie (de base ou à option parmi celles proposées par l’assureur en question) et de la date du début de la couverture d’assurance par courrier recommandé.
11. Puis-je suspendre la couverture accident si je suis déjà couvert en vertu de la loi sur l’assurance-accident?
Oui. Votre assureur procède à la suspension lorsque vous lui en faites la demande et vous apportez la preuve que vous êtes entièrement assuré conformément à la loi sur l’assurance-accidents. Votre assureur maladie réduit votre prime en conséquence.
12. Puis-je suspendre mon assurance-maladie pendant mon service militaire ou service civil?
Oui, si vous accomplissez un service de plus de 60 jours consécutifs dans l'armée, dans le service civil ou dans la protection civile, l'assurance-maladie peut être suspendue durant cette période, car l'assurance militaire couvre le risque de maladie et accidents pour la durée du service. Les autorités compétentes en matière de service militaire ou civil vous informent de la procédure.
13. Doit-je rester assuré en Suisse lors d’un séjour temporaire à l’étranger (voyage, études) ?
Oui. Si vous partez un certain temps à l’étranger pour étudier ou voyager et, que vous n’y élisez pas domicile, vous restez soumis à l’obligation de vous assurer en Suisse (même si vous avez déclaré votre départ à la commune).
14. Si je transfère mon domicile à l’étranger, puis-je rester assuré pour l’assurance obligatoire des soins en Suisse ?
En principe, la couverture d’assurance prend fin avec votre départ de la Suisse. Certains groupes de personnes qui déménagent dans un pays de l'UE/AELE (p. ex., les rentiers, les frontaliers et les membres de leur famille) doivent rester assurés en Suisse.

De plus, les assureurs peuvent proposer (mais n’y sont pas contraints) aux personnes qui étaient soumises à l’assurance obligatoire des soins le maintien des rapports d’assurance sur une base contractuelle. Le contrat peut être conclu auprès du même ou d’un autre assureur. Les rapports d’assurance sont dès lors soumis à la loi sur le contrat d’assurance.

Demande concernant le sujet
Dernière mise à jour le: 24.09.2015

Fin secteur de contenu

Recherche plein texte

Downloads

Informations complémentaires



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/04114/04123/index.html?lang=fr