Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



FAQ about the requirement to take out insurance

01. Is health insurance compulsory in Switzerland?
Yes. Health insurance is compulsory in Switzerland.
You need health insurance in particular:
- If you are resident in Switzerland, irrespective of your nationality. All the members of your family, both adults and children, require insurance.
- If you have a Swiss residence permit valid for three months or longer.
- If you are working in Switzerland for less than three months and do not have equivalent insurance cover from another country which is valid in Switzerland.
- If you are a Swiss national or a national of an EU/EFTA country, are working in Switzerland and are resident in a member state of the EU, in Iceland or in Norway. This also applies to any members of your family who are not employed.
- If you are a Swiss national or a national of an EU/EFTA country whose only source of income is a Swiss pension and are resident in a member state of the EU, in Iceland or in Norway. This also applies to any members of your family who are not employed.
- If you are receiving unemployment benefit from Switzerland and go to an EU/EFTA country for 3 months to look for work.
- If your Swiss employer posts you abroad to work for a limited period of time, you continue to be insured under the health insurance scheme during the posting. You can find more information in the information sheets on social insurance for posted workers (http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/internationales/02765/index.html?lang=en).
02. What happens if I do not take out insurance?
The authority designated by the canton will automatically register anyone required to take out insurance who fails to comply with this obligation in good time. The health insurance fund will then be chosen by the cantonal authority on your behalf.
03. When is insurance no longer required?
Insurance coverage ceases when a policyholder is no longer subject to compulsory insurance:
- if he or she dies
- if he or she leaves Switzerland to take up residence in another country and is not required to remain insured in Switzerland on the basis of the bilateral agreements with the EU or the agreement with EFTA countries (e.g. cross-border commuters, pensioners and their family members.
04. Who is exempted from the obligation to obtain insurance in Switzerland?
You do not have to take out insurance:
- if you are a Swiss citizen or national of an EU/EFTA state and live in Switzerland but work in an EU/EFTA member state or receive your pension only from an EU/EFTA state;
- if you are an EU/EFTA member state national or Swiss national and have been sent from an EU/EFTA member state to Switzerland for a period of up to 24 months;
- if you are member of a diplomatic or consular mission or are employed by an international organization which enjoys privileges under international law.
- if you come to Switzerland only for medical treatment or a cure.
The following people are exempted on request provided that, throughout the period for which the exemption is valid, they have equivalent insurance coverage for healthcare in Switzerland:
- people who are required to have health insurance under the law of a country with which no agreement has been concluded concerning limitation of the obligation to obtain insurance, insofar as liability to Swiss insurance would impose a double burden;
- people staying in Switzerland for purposes of basic or advanced training, such as students, pupils and trainees, and family members accompanying them;
- workers posted to Switzerland who are exempted from liability to pay Swiss old-age and Survivors' / Invalidity Insurance (AHV/IV) contributions under an international social security agreement, together with family members accompanying them;
- people residing in a member state of the EU, insofar as they may be exempted from the obligation to obtain insurance under the bilateral Agreement on Free Movement of Persons and Annex II thereto;
- holders of a residence permit for persons not pursuing an economic activity in accordance with the Agreement on Free Movement of Persons and the European Free Trade Agreement.
The following are also exempted on request:
- people for whom membership of a Swiss insurance scheme would entail a marked deterioration in insurance coverage or in reimbursement of expenses and who, on account of their age and/or state of health, could not obtain comparable supplementary insurance or could only do so on terms that would be difficult to accept;

Requests will be assessed by the relevant cantonal authorities, or in the case of pensioners living in an EU/EFTA state, by the HIA Collective Institution. For further information or to obtain the necessary forms, please contact the competent authority directly where you are residing/staying or where you work.
http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/06377/06508/index.html?lang=de.
05. My child was born at the end of the month. I registered in Switzerland in the middle of the month. My husband died at the beginning of the month. Is the insurer entitled/obliged to charge a premium for the whole month?
No. Following a decision taken by the Federal Supreme Court concerning the divisibility of premiums under compulsory health insurance (decision of 3 December 2015) the premium is divisible. This means that in the event of a birth or a death, or if someone moves to Switzerland or moves away, the insurer has to calculate the premiums to the day. This rule has been in effect since 3 December 2015.
06. Within which period do I have to take out insurance, and what are the consequences of delayed registration?
You have to take out health insurance within three months of the beginning of compulsory insurance (e.g. of the date you take up residence or give birth to a child in Switzerland). The insurance is then back-dated to the beginning of compulsory insurance. Since expenses are reimbursed retroactively, consequently it is mandatory to pay the premiums retroactively from the beginning of coverage on.

If you do not meet this three-month deadline, your insurance cover will only take effect from the date you register, and you will have to pay a premium supplement unless you can give good reasons for the delay.
07. Am I free to choose a health insurance fund?
Yes, the health insurance fund can be freely chosen; however, the fund in question must be approved in accordance with the Health Insurance Law.

A list of current premiums, by health insurance fund and canton/region, can be found at: http://www.priminfo.ch.
08. Can a health insurance fund refuse to insure me or attach conditions?
No. As far as compulsory health insurance (basic insurance) is concerned, all health insurance funds are obliged to accept your application irrespective of your age and state of health, and without stipulating any conditions or waiting period.
09. 9. Can a health insurance fund require me to complete a health questionnaire when I apply for basic insurance?
No. If you are subject to compulsory insurance, the health insurance fund has to accept your application irrespective of your age and state of health. It may not stipulate conditions or a waiting period. For this reason, you cannot be required to complete a health questionnaire.

In contrast, when you apply for supplementary insurance, the health insurance fund is entitled under the Federal Act on Insurance Policies to enquire about your state of health, to attach conditions, or simply to reject your application.
10. What can I do if a health insurance fund does not reply to my application?
If you wish to register with a health insurance fund, but it does not reply to your application or seeks to impose a deductible or coverage which does not suit you, our advice would be as follows: using registered mail, send this health insurance fund your application for basic health insurance, indicating your choice of deductible (either the standard rate or one of the options offered by the insurer in question) and the date on which coverage should start.
11. Can I suspend my accident cover if I am already covered under the Accident Insurance Act?
Yes. Your insurer will suspend this cover on request if you provide evidence that you are fully covered in accordance with the Accident Insurance Law. Your health insurer will then reduce your premium accordingly.
12. Can I suspend my health insurance during military or community service?
Yes, you can suspend your insurance during periods of service lasting longer than 60 consecutive days (e.g. basic military training, community service, protection and support (P&S) service). During these periods, the risk illness and the risk accident are covered by military insurance. Your health insurance fund will refund your premiums. The competent military or community authorities inform you about the procedure.
13. Do I have to remain insured in Switzerland when I am temporarily abroad (travelling, studying)?
Yes. If you leave the country for a certain period to travel or study but do not take up residence abroad, you are still required to have insurance in Switzerland (even if you have informed the local authority of your absence).
14. If I take up residence abroad, can I retain my basic health insurance in Switzerland?
Essentially, insurance coverage ceases when you leave Switzerland. Certain groups of persons who move to an EU or EFTA country (e.g. pensioners, cross-border commuters and their family members) are still subject to compulsory health insurance in Switzerland.

In addition, for people who were subject to compulsory health insurance, insurers may (but are not obliged to!) offer to continue to provide coverage on a contractual basis. The contract may be concluded with the same or a different insurer. The insurance relationship is then governed by insurance contract law.

Enquiry for the topic
Last updated on: 24.09.2015

End Content Area

Full-text search



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/04114/04123/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



FAQ zur Versicherungspflicht

01. Ist die Krankenversicherung obligatorisch in der Schweiz?
Ja, in der Schweiz ist die Krankenversicherung obligatorisch.
Sie müssen sich insbesondere versichern:
- Wenn Sie in der Schweiz wohnhaft sind (unabhängig von Ihrer Staatsangehörigkeit). Jedes Familienmitglied muss versichert sein, Erwachsene ebenso wie Kinder (es gibt keine Familienversicherung).
- Wenn Sie über eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung von drei Monaten oder länger verfügen.
- Wenn Sie für kurze Zeit (weniger als drei Monate) in der Schweiz arbeiten und Ihr Versicherungsschutz nicht demjenigen der schweizerischen Krankenversicherung entspricht.
- Wenn Sie als Schweizerin/Schweizer oder als EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige/r in der Schweiz erwerbstätig sind und in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat, in Island oder Norwegen wohnen. Dies gilt auch für Ihre nichterwerbstätigen Familienangehörigen.
- Wenn Sie als Schweizerin/Schweizer oder als EU/EFTA-Staatsangehörige/r ausschliesslich eine Rente aus der Schweiz beziehen und in einem EU-Mitgliedstaat, in Island oder Norwegen wohnen. Dies gilt auch für Ihre nichterwerbstätigen Familienangehörigen.
- Wenn Sie eine Arbeitslosenentschädigung aus der Schweiz beziehen und Sie sich zur Arbeitssuche für drei Monate in einen EU/EFTA-Mitgliedstaat begeben.
- Wenn Sie für Ihren Schweizer Arbeitgeber vorübergehend in einem anderen Land arbeiten, unterliegen Sie während der Dauer der Entsendung weiterhin der schweizerischen Krankenversicherung. Mehr dazu finden Sie in den Merkblättern Soziale Sicherheit für Entsandte (http://www.bsv.admin.ch/themen/internationales/02765/index.html?lang=de).
02. Was geschieht, wenn ich mich nicht versichere?
Stellt die vom Kanton bezeichnete Behörde fest, dass Sie Ihrer Versicherungspflicht nicht rechtzeitig nachgekommen sind, weist diese Behörde Sie einem Versicherer zu. In diesem Fall können Sie den Versicherer nicht selber auswählen.
03. Wann endet die obligatorische Krankenversicherung?
Die Versicherungsdeckung endet, wenn die/der Versicherte nicht mehr der Versicherungspflicht unterstellt ist:
- mit dem Tod
- bei Verlegung des Wohnsitzes von der Schweiz in ein anderes Land, wenn Sie nicht gemäss den Bilateralen Abkommen mit der EU und der EFTA weiterhin der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz unterstehen (z.B. Grenzgängerinnen und Grenzgänger und Rentnerinnen und Rentner und ihre Familienangehörigen).
04. Wer ist von der Versicherungspflicht in der Schweiz ausgenommen?
Es besteht keine Versicherungspflicht für Sie:
- obwohl Sie als Staatsangehörige/-r eines EU-/EFTA-Staates oder der Schweiz in der Schweiz wohnen, z.B. wenn Sie in einem EU-/EFTA-Staat erwerbstätig sind oder ausschliesslich eine Rente aus einem EU-/EFTA-Staat erhalten;
- als Staatsangehörige/-r eines EU-/EFTA-Staates oder der Schweiz, die von einem EU-/EFTA-Staat für einen Zeitraum von bis 24 Monaten in die Schweiz entsandt werden;
- als Mitglied diplomatischer oder konsularischer Missionen sowie als Angestellte/r von internationalen Organisationen, welche Vorrechte nach internationalem Recht haben.
- wenn Sie ausschliesslich zur ärztlichen Behandlung oder zur Kur in die Schweiz kommen.
Auf Gesuch hin ausgenommen sind Personen, sofern sie während der ganzen Geltungsdauer der Befreiung über einen gleichwertigen Versicherungsschutz für Behandlungen in der Schweiz verfügen:
- Personen, die nach dem Recht eines Staates, mit dem keine Regelung zur Abgrenzung der Versicherungspflicht besteht, obligatorisch krankenversichert sind, sofern der Einbezug in die schweizerische Versicherung für sie eine Doppelbelastung bedeuten würde;
- Personen, die sich im Rahmen einer Aus- und Weiterbildung in der Schweiz aufhalten, wie namentlich Studierende, Schülerinnen und Schüler, Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten sowie die sie begleitenden Familienangehörigen;
- in die Schweiz entsandte Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitnehmerinnen, die gestützt auf eine zwischenstaatliche Vereinbarung über soziale Sicherheit von der Beitragspflicht in der schweizerischen Alters-, Hinterlassenen- und Invalidenversicherung (AHV/IV) befreit sind, sowie die sie begleitenden Familienangehörigen;
- Personen, die in einem Mitgliedstaat der EU wohnen, sofern sie nach dem Freizügigkeitsabkommen sowie seinem Anhang II von der Versicherungspflicht befreit werden können;
- Personen, die über eine Aufenthaltsbewilligung für Personen ohne Erwerbstätigkeit nach dem Freizügigkeitsabkommen oder dem EFTA-Abkommen verfügen.
Zudem sind auf Gesuch hin ausgenommen:
- Personen, für die eine Unterstellung unter die schweizerische Versicherung eine klare Verschlechterung des bisherigen Versicherungsschutzes oder der bisherigen Kostendeckung zur Folge hätte und die sich auf Grund ihres Alters und/oder ihres Gesundheitszustandes nicht oder nur zu kaum tragbaren Bedingungen im bisherigen Umfang zusatzversichern könnten.
Die zuständigen kantonalen Behörden befinden über die Gesuche. Für weitere Informationen oder für den Bezug der nötigen Formulare können Sie sich direkt an die zuständige Behörde Ihres Wohn-/Aufenthalts- oder Erwerbsortes wenden
http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/06377/06508/index.html?lang=de
05. Mein Kind ist Ende Monat geboren. Ich habe mich Mitte Monat in der Schweiz angemeldet. Muss/kann der Versicherer die Prämie für den ganzen Monat in Rechnung stellen?
Ja. Dieser Punkt ist zwar nicht explizit im Gesetz erwähnt, doch es gilt zu bedenken, dass die obligatorische Krankenversicherung keine Tagesprämien, sondern nur Monatsprämien kennt, und diese Prämien im Voraus zu bezahlen sind. Die Prämien müssen also für den ganzen Monat bezahlt werden.
Die Versicherer können aber in Bezug auf den ersten Erhebungsmonat eine unterschiedliche Handhabung vorsehen. So fordern gewisse Versicherer die Prämie für den ganzen Geburtsmonat, unabhängig vom genauen Geburtsdatum. Andere hingegen erheben die Prämie für den Geburtsmonat nur, wenn das Kind in der ersten Hälfte des fraglichen Monats geboren ist.
06. Innerhalb welcher Frist muss ich mich versichern und was hat eine verspätete Anmeldung zur Folge?
Sie müssen sich innerhalb von drei Monaten ab Beginn der Versicherungspflicht (z. B. nach Ihrer Wohnsitznahme in der Schweiz oder der Geburt Ihres Kindes) rückwirkend auf den Zeitpunkt des Beginns der Versicherungspflicht bei einem Krankenversicherer versichern. Da auch zeitlich rückwirkend bis zum Versicherungsbeginn allfällige Auslagen ver¬gü¬tet werden, sind zwingend auch die Prämien rückwirkend bis zum Versicherungsbeginn zu entrichten.

Bei verspäteter Anmeldung beginnt der Versicherungsschutz erst ab Beitrittsdatum; bei unbegründeter Verspätung bezahlen Sie einen Prämienzuschlag.
07. Bin ich frei in der Wahl eines Krankenversicherers?
Ja, Sie können den Krankenversicherer frei wählen. Es muss sich jedoch um einen gemäss Bundesgesetz über die Krankenversicherung zugelassenen Krankenversicherer handeln.

Eine Liste der aktuellen Prämien nach Krankenversicherer und Kanton/Region finden Sie unter: http://www.priminfo.ch.
08. Kann ein Krankenversicherer meine Aufnahme ablehnen oder Vorbehalte anbringen?
Nein. Wenn es um die obligatorische Krankenpflegeversicherung (Grundversicherung) geht, sind alle Krankenversicherer verpflichtet, Sie vorbehaltlos und ohne Wartefrist aufzunehmen, ungeachtet Ihres Alters und Gesundheitszustands.
09. Darf ein Krankenversicherer mich bei der Anmeldung für die Grundversicherung auffordern, einen Gesundheitsfragebogen auszufüllen?
Nein. Wenn Sie der Versicherungspflicht unterstehen, dann muss Sie der Krankenversicherer ungeachtet Ihres Alters und Gesundheitszustandes aufnehmen. Er darf auch keine Vorbehalte und Wartefristen anbringen. Daher kann kein Gesundheitsfragebogen eingefordert werden.

Hingegen ist der Versicherer bei einem Aufnahmegesuch für eine Zusatzversicherung nach dem Bundesgesetz über den Versicherungsvertrag berechtigt, Ihnen Fragen über Ihren Gesundheitszustand zu stellen, Vorbehalte anzubringen oder Ihr Gesuch abzulehnen.
10. Was kann ich tun, wenn der Krankenversicherer auf mein Aufnahmegesuch nicht reagiert?
Sie möchten gerne einem Krankenversicherer beitreten, aber dieser reagiert nicht auf Ihr Gesuch oder legt eine Franchise oder andere Krankenkasse fest, die Ihnen nicht zusagen. In diesem Fall empfehlen wir Ihnen, diesem Krankenversicherer das Aufnahmegesuch für die Grundversicherung mit Angabe der gewünschten Franchise (gesetzliche oder eine der vom fraglichen Versicherer angebotenen wählbaren Franchisen) und dem Datum des Versicherungsbeginns eingeschrieben zuzustellen.
11. Kann ich die Unfalldeckung sistieren, wenn ich bereits durch die Unfallversicherung versichert bin?
Ja. Ihr Versicherer nimmt auf Ihren Antrag hin die Sistierung vor, wenn Sie den Nachweis erbringen, dass Sie im Sinne des Unfallversicherungsgesetzes vollumfänglich unfallversichert sind. Ihre Prämie wird daraufhin entsprechend reduziert.
12. Kann ich meine Krankenversicherung während dem Militärdienst sistieren?
Ja, während Diensten, die länger als 60 aufeinanderfolgende Tage dauern (z.B. RS, während des Zivildienstes oder während des Zivilschutzes) kann die Versicherung sistiert werden. Die für den Dienst zuständigen Behörden informieren die dienstleistenden Personen über das Verfahren. Die Militärversicherung deckt während der Dienstzeit die Risiken Krankheit und Unfall ab.
13. Bleibe ich bei einem vorübergehenden Auslandaufenthalt (Reise, Studium) in der Schweiz versicherungspflichtig?
Ja. Wenn Sie sich für eine bestimmte Zeit zu Studien- oder Reisezwecken ins Ausland begeben, Ihren Wohnsitz aber nicht dorthin verlegen, sind Sie nach wie vor in der Schweiz versicherungspflichtig (auch wenn Sie Ihren Wegzug der Gemeinde gemeldet haben).
14. Kann ich bei der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung in der Schweiz versichert bleiben, wenn ich meinen Wohnsitz ins Ausland verlege?
Grundsätzlich endet der Versicherungsschutz mit Ihrem Wegzug aus der Schweiz. Gewisse Personengruppen, die in einen EU-/EFTA-Staat umziehen (z.B. Rentnerinnen und Rentner und Grenzgängerinnen und Grenzgänger und ihre Familienangehörigen), bleiben in der Schweiz krankenversicherungspflichtig.

Zudem können die Versicherer (müssen aber nicht!) Personen, die der obligatorischen Krankenpflegeversicherung unterstellt waren, auf vertraglicher Basis eine Fortdauer des Versicherungsschutzes anbieten. Der Vertrag kann beim gleichen oder bei einem anderen Versicherer abgeschlossen werden. Die Versicherungsverhältnisse unterliegen dann dem Bundesgesetz über den Versicherungsvertrag.

Anfrage zum Thema
Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 24.09.2015

Ende Inhaltsbereich

Volltextsuche

Downloads

Weitere Informationen



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/krankenversicherung/04114/04123/index.html?lang=de