Federal Office of Public Health FOPH

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Migration of Health Personnel

WHO Global Code of Practice on the International Recruitment of Health Personnel

On 21 May 2010 the Member States of the World Health Organization (WHO) adopted the WHO Global Code of Practice on the International Recruitment of Health Personnel. This code is the response from governments in recognizing that a global shortage of health personnel particularly affects developing countries and that this problem is somewhat exacerbated by the emigration of health personnel from these countries. The aim of the Code is therefore to provide the ethical principles applicable to the international recruitment of health personnel in a manner that takes into account the rights and obligations of the source countries, destination countries and migrant health personnel.

Implementation and monitoring of the Code
Although the Code is a non-binding instrument, it includes measures aimed at encouraging its implementation. Accordingly, on a voluntary basis, member states are encouraged, as of 2012, to provide the WHO secretariat with an activity report every three years. The report should present the laws and regulations related to health personnel recruitment and migration, as well as the measures taken in order to implement the Code. It should also include statistical data.

Role of the FOPH
Within the framework of Swiss foreign policy as regards to health, the Federal Office of Public Health since 2008 has coordinated an interdepartmental working group that examines the recommendations of the Code in the Swiss context and has commissioned three studies relating to the following areas: 1) Statistical documentation, 2) Recruitment practices and 3) Cooperation practices.

In this respect, it is important to note that in Switzerland, questions pertaining to migrations and resources in regard to health personnel are the competence not only of the Confederation, but also of the cantons and of public and private stakeholders. With a view to presenting the Swiss national report to the WHO secretariat in 2012, the FOPH intends to inform the group of stakeholders in question of the principles of the Code and to introduce itself as the coordinating body between these different parties.

Bearing this in mind, the FOPH will draw particular attention to four essential recommendations of the Code to the stakeholders:


Information
Federal Office of Public Health, Global Health Section


Enquiry for the topic

End Content Area



Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH)
Contact | Terms and conditions | HONcode
http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/internationales/11103/11513/11607/index.html?lang=en

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Migration von Gesundheitspersonal

Globaler Verhaltenskodex der WHO für die Internationale Anwerbung von Gesundheitsfachkräften

Am 21. Mai 2010 haben die Mitgliedstaaten der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) den globalen Verhaltenskodex für die Internationale Anwerbung von Gesundheitsfachkräften gutgeheissen. Dieser Kodex ist die Antwort der Regierungen auf die Tatsache, dass der weltweite Mangel an Gesundheitspersonal vor allem die Entwicklungsländer trifft und sich dieses Problem mit der Personalabwanderung aus diesen Ländern zu verschlimmern droht. Der Kodex enthält ethische Grundsätze, die bei der internationalen Rekrutierung von Gesundheitspersonal zur Anwendung gelangen sollen, indem den Rechten und Pflichten der Herkunfts- und Zielländer sowie der abwandernden Gesundheitsfachkräfte Rechnung getragen wird.

Umsetzung und Befolgung des Kodex
Zwar handelt es sich beim Kodex nicht um ein verbindliches Instrument, doch er beinhaltet Elemente, die seine Umsetzung fördern sollen. So ist vorgesehen, dass die Mitgliedstaaten dem WHO-Sekretariat ab 2012 alle drei Jahre auf freiwilliger Basis einen Tätigkeitsbericht vorlegen. Dieser muss über den Stand der Gesetze und Regelungen zur Rekrutierung und Migration von Gesundheitspersonal sowie über die getroffenen Massnahmen zur Umsetzung des Kodex Auskunft geben. Weiter muss der Bericht auch statistische Angaben enthalten.

Rolle des BAG
Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) koordiniert im Bereich der Gesundheitsaussenpolitik seit 2008 eine interdepartementale Arbeitsgruppe, die die Empfehlungen des Kodex unter Berücksichtigung des schweizerischen Kontexts prüft und drei Studien zu folgenden Themen durchführen liess: 1) Die statistische Dokumentierung, 2) die Vorgehensweisen bei der Rekrutierung und 3) die Formen der Zusammenarbeit.

In der Schweiz sind für die Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Migration und den personellen Ressourcen im Gesundheitswesen sowohl der Bund als auch die Kantone sowie andere öffentliche und private Akteure zuständig. Im Hinblick auf die Abgabe des Berichts der Schweiz an das WHO-Sekretariat im Jahr 2012 beabsichtigt das BAG, alle betroffenen Akteure über die Grundsätze des Kodex zu informieren und als Koordinationsorgan unter den verschiedenen Beteiligten zu agieren.

Vor diesem Hintergrund macht das BAG die betroffenen Akteure vor allem auf vier wesentliche Empfehlungen des Kodex aufmerksam:


Auskunft
Bundesamt für Gesundheit, Sektion Globale Gesundheit


Anfrage zum Thema

Ende Inhaltsbereich



http://www.bag.admin.ch/themen/internationales/11103/11513/11607/index.html?lang=de